Franchitti wins Milwaukee to tie points lead

Monday 20th June, 2011 - 8:09am


Franchitti took victory despite heavy resistance from Castroneves

Franchitti took victory despite heavy resistance from Castroneves

Dario Franchitti has dominated the Milwaukee 225 to tie Will Power’s points lead in the 2011 Izod IndyCar Series.

Franchitti led the race early, and survived mid-race battles with Tony Kanaan and Helio Castroneves to emerge with the lead on the final restart with less than 25 laps to go.

Castroneves had led prior to the yellow flag for a crashed Kanaan, but was forced to pit with a deflating left-rear tyre.

“That was a hell of a run today,” said Franchitti after the race.

“The first part of the race I thought I had a bit of an advantage on everybody.

“Then Tony (Kanaan) came marching along and he looked really, really strong, and he gave me a hard time as usual.

“To win here at Milwaukee is always special. It’s such hard work and a such a hard race.”

Graham Rahal continued his outstanding season to record a second place finish, ahead of Newman-Haas Racing’s Oriol Servia, Power, and Danica Patrick.

Starting 17th, Power was pleased to avoid the mid-pack tangles on his way to a solid points finish.

“A couple double file restarts were good for me, a couple were bad,” said Power.

“I’m pretty happy to get the Verizon car up there. I guess we are equal on points now. Good job by Dario.  He came back after Texas to teach us a lesson, so I guess we will have to be quick at Iowa.

“We just have to keep fighting away, keep having good days like this and make no mistakes and we’ll be good.”

James Hinchcliffe, Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato, Castroneves and Justin Wilson rounded out the top 10 – with the Japanese driver having recovered from an early pit-road penalty for colliding with a crew memeber.

Ryan Briscoe finished 11th after losing several places thanks to a slow final pitstop.

Kanaan was not the only driver to crash out of the race, with Ryan Hunter Reay, Ana Beatriz, JR Hildebrand, Alex Lloyd, Sebastian Saavadera and EJ Viso all finding the walls on the one-mile oval during the 225 lap journey.

See below for the full race result

Pos Start Driver Car Name Laps
1 1 Dario Franchitti Downy 225 Running
2 12 Graham Rahal Service Central 225 Running
3 10 Oriol Servia Telemundo/Newman Haas Racing 225 Running
4 17 Will Power Verizon Team Penske 225 Running
5 15 Danica Patrick Team GoDaddy 225 Running
6 16 James Hinchcliffe Sprott/Newman Haas Racing 225 Running
7 3 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing 225 Running
8 5 Takuma Sato KV Racing Technology 225 Running
9 2 Helio Castroneves Guidepoint Systems Team Penske 225 Running
10 13 Justin Wilson Dad’s Root Beer/Dreyer & Reinbold 225 Running
11 8 Ryan Briscoe Transitions Adaptive Lenses Penske 225 Running
12 20 Mike Conway Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda 225 Running
13 9 Marco Andretti Team Venom Energy 225 Running
14 21 Charlie Kimball Levemir and NovoLog FlexPen 224 Running
15 23 James Jakes Acorn Stairlifts 223 Running
16 25 Ed Carpenter Direct Supply/Sarah Fisher Racing 223 Running
17 11 Ana Beatriz Team Ipiranga/Dreyer & Reinbold 222 Running
18 19 Alex Tagliani Bowers & Wilkins/Sam Schmidt 196 Running
19 4 Tony Kanaan GEICO – KV Racing Technology 194 Contact
20 6 EJ Viso PDVSA – KV Racing Technology 163 Contact
21 18 JR Hildebrand National Guard Panther Racing 120 Contact
22 14 Alex Lloyd Boy Scouts of America 79 Contact
23 24 Sebastian Saavedra Conquest Racing 78 Contact
24 22 Vitor Meira ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Racing 69 Handling
25 26 Simona de Silvestro Nuclear Clean Air Energy 11 Handling
26 7 Ryan Hunter-Reay Team 0 Contact comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!