Winterbottom takes Race 13 pole in Darwin

Sunday 19th June, 2011 - 12:54pm


Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom has taken pole for Race 13 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Hidden Valley Raceway.

After a tumultuous end to yesterday’s race where he was denied victory in a late-race clash, Winterbottom set a 1m09.7935s at the Darwin track to take his second pole position for the weekend.

TeamVodafone’s pair of Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes will line-up second and third, ahead of Fujitsu Racing’s Lee Holdsworth.

Tony D’Alberto continued his super impressive weekend, qualifying fifth.

D’Alberto will start one place ahead of his FPR stable-mate Will Davison (Trading Post FPR), who outqualified Tim Slade (Lucky 7 Racing), Steve Johnson (Jim Beam Racing), an improved Alex Davison (IRWIN Racing) and Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing).

Yesterday’s winner Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) will start from 14th place.

The entire field was covered by just over 0.7s.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:09.7935  
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8556 0:00.0621
3 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8624 0:00.0689
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.9089 0:00.1154
5 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:09.9221 0:00.1286
6 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:09.9280 0:00.1345
7 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:09.9331 0:00.1396
8 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:10.0067 0:00.2132
9 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:10.0298 0:00.2363
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.0305 0:00.2370
11 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:10.1186 0:00.3251
12 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:10.1219 0:00.3284
13 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1322 0:00.3387
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1338 0:00.3403
15 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1567 0:00.3632
16 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1681 0:00.3746
17 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1766 0:00.3831
18 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1881 0:00.3946
19 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:10.2009 0:00.4074
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.2202 0:00.4267
21 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.2220 0:00.4285
22 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.3047 0:00.5112
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.3243 0:00.5308
24 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.4014 0:00.6079
25 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:10.4051 0:00.6116
26 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:10.4504 0:00.6569
27 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.4593 0:00.6658
28 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.4973 0:00.7038


Click below for audio of Winterbottom after his pole position run at Darwin today.

Winterbottom Sunday pole Darwin 2011 by speedcafe comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!