Shane van Gisbergen takes second career win

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen at Hidden Valley

Shane van Gisbergen has won a tyre strategy determined Race 13 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Hidden Valley Raceway today, marking the Kiwi’s second career win.

The SP Tools-backed Falcon driver executed a late move on Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone) to win the 69 lap race.

Van Gisbergen celebrated with a victory burnout and has moved up to third in the title race behind Jamie Whincup and Lowndes.

Mark Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel FPR) finished today’s race in third place, making up for a disappointing result yesterday.


Tim Slade (Lucky 7 Racing) and Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing) rounded out the top five.

Jamie Whincup and Lee Holdsworth were the only drivers who elected to start the race on Dunlop’s soft compound Sprint tyre. Whincup recovered for a slow start to lead the majority of the event until a late Saftey Car (when Karl Reindler crashed into a tyre wall) tipped the race on its head.

Whincup, trapped at the front on the hard tyres at the restart with less than 10 laps to go, was helpless against the soft tyre runners, eventually taking sixth place, while Holdsworth was worse off, finishing 15th.

The first Safety Car of the race also played its part in the outcome of the event. Will Davison was one of few who didn’t pit during the first Safety Car, which resulted in a long opening stint for the Trading Post Ford.

At the end of the race, Davison was left with the freshest soft tyres, moving from 14th place at the final restart to take seventh by the flag, one sport ahead of his IRWIN Racing brother Alex Davsion.

Yesterday’s podium finisher Steve Johnson (Jim Beam Racing) finished ninth, ahead of Jason Bargwanna (Jana Living Racing), giving the 2000 Bathurst winner two top 10 places over the weekend.

Jason Bright (Team BOC) suffered his second DNF of the weekend, with a massive engine failure at the end of the front-straight causing his demise. Bright’s horror event dropped him from fourth to 10th in the title fight.

Toll Holden Racing Team endured another shocker. Garth Tander had a bent steering arm on Lap 22, bowing out of the race. His team-mate James Courtney spun on Bright’s oil, dropping down the order. He finished 24th after a another delay later in the going, this time due to a broken left-rear damper mount.

Kelly Racing also had a frought day, with Saturday race winner Rick Kelly once again the squad’s highest finishing entry, despite finishing down in 20th position. Kelly went off on Bright’s oil early in the race, and later lost out badly when his fuel strategy forced the early use of his Sprint tyres.

The next event of the V8 Supercars Championship will be held at Townsville for the Sucrogen Townsville 400.

See below for the Race 13 result

1 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:04.3716
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:05.2655
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:06.1017
4 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:06.5474
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:09.4492
6 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:11.5742
7 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:12.1848
8 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:15.0812
9 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:15.6765
10 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:17.3615
11 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:17.5202
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:19.1062
13 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:20.4378
14 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:20.4652
15 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:22.5310
16 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:24.9813
17 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:29.1436
18 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:32.2109
19 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 69 01:27:33.4502
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:44.0197
21 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 69 01:27:49.8758
22 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 68 01:27:36.1328
23 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 68 01:28:05.6452
24 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 63 01:27:40.5068
25 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 63 01:28:05.2757
26 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 56 01:27:37.5319
DNF Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 45 58:23.7959
DNF Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 10 12:17.4783

See below for the championship points after 13 races

1 Jamie Whincup 1395
2 Craig Lowndes 1239
3 Shane Van Gisbergen 1134
4 Rick Kelly 1082
5 Steven Johnson 1030
6 Will Davison 1020
7 Garth Tander 1013
8 Alex Davison 963
9 Mark Winterbottom 961
10 Jason Bright 920
11 Fabian Coulthard 838
12 Lee Holdsworth 801
13 Tim Slade 711
14 Michael Caruso 696
15 Jason Bargwanna 686
16 James Courtney 679
17 Greg Murphy 635
18 Jonathon Webb 618
19 Paul Dumbrell 616
20 Steve Owen 576
21 James Moffat 568
22 David Reynolds 564
23 Russell Ingall 539
24 Todd Kelly 517
25 Dean Fiore 517
26 Tony D’Alberto 493
27 Karl Reindler 444
28 Warren Luff 355


Comments are closed.