Reed wins Budds Creek National

Sunday 19th June, 2011 - 11:51am


Chad Reed

TwoTwo Motorsports Bel-Ray Racings Chad Reed has taken his third 2011 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross overall win at today’s fourth round of the series – the Budds Creek National at Mechanicsville in Merryland.

In claiming the top spot on the podium, Reed finished the opening race third before taking the win in Race 2.

Despite taking the holeshot in Moto 1 Reed dropped back to fourth before passing Mike Alessi for third.

Another good start in the second moto saw Reed go straight on the attack, passing Kevin Windham and Ryan Dungey early on the opening lap. Reed tussled with Alessi for the race lead before making the pass on Lap 4.

The TwoTwo Motorsports rider, who has won five of the eight moto’s contested so far this season.

“I really wasn’t myself this weekend,” Reed said.

“I struggled through practice and qualifying, then rode a horrible first race. I felt like had no rhythm at all. The harder I tried the worse it got. I was picking the wrong lines and hitting the corners with too much speed.

“Fortunately I was able to get it together for Race 2 and take home the win. I wouldn’t say my riding was perfect, far from it, but it was a whole lot better than race 1 and I was happy to race a solid 17 laps.

“I am proud that we have not lost a second moto this year but I need to work on these opening races.”

Today’s victory sees Reed maintain his 15-point lead in the 450cc ranks.

The fifth round of the 2011 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship – the Thunder Valley National, will be held at Lakewood, Colorado on Saturday June 25.

RACE RESULTS: Mechanicsville, MD

1. Chad Reed
2. Ryan Villapoto
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Kevin Windham
5. Mike Alessi
6. Brett Metcalfe
7. David Milsaps
8. Jacob Weimer
9. Andrew Short
10. Josh Grant

Lucas Oil Pro AMA Motocross Championship Standings (after Rd 4 of 12)

Pos Rider Place
of Origin
Motorcycle Points
1 Chad  Reed Kurri  Kurri : New South Wales Honda 182
2 Ryan  Villopoto Poulsbo  : Washington Kawasaki 168
3 Ryan  Dungey Belle  Plaine : Minnesota Suzuki 155
4 Davi  Millsaps Murrieta  : California Yamaha 130
5 Brett  Metcalfe Mannum  : South Australia Suzuki 118
6 Kevin  Windham Centreville  : Mississippi Honda 112
7 Jake  Weimer Rupert  : Idaho Kawasaki 93
8 Ricky  Dietrich Menifee  : California Yamaha 92
9 Christian  Craig Hemet :  California Honda 76
10 Andrew  Short Smithville  : Texas KTM 75 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!