Winterbottom scores provisional pole in Darwin

Saturday 18th June, 2011 - 12:42pm


Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom has taken provisional pole for Race 12 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Hidden Valley Raceway this morning.

The Orrcon Steel Ford Performance Racing entry took the top spot ahead of Steve Johnson (Jim Beam Racing) and Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone).

This session has determined the positions for 11th to 28th, with the top 10 shootout to be held at 12.20pm.

Other drivers to compete in the top 10 shootout include Greg Murphy (Pepsi Max Crew), Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone), Shane van Gisberegen (SP Tools Racing), Steve Owen (VIP Petfoods Racing), Tim Slade (Lucky 7 Racing), Paul Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing) and Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing).

To prove how close the field is this year, the field was covered by less than one second in the session.


1 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:09.2123*
2 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:09.4370
3 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.4666
4 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.5003
5 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.5040
6 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:09.5613
7 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.5671
8 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:09.6157
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:09.6445
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.6496
11 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.6744
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.7195
13 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.7198
14 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:09.7815
15 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8073
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8080
17 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8170
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8397
19 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8419
20 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:09.8674
21 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8798
22 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:09.9412
23 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:09.9566
24 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:09.9702
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.9859
26 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:10.0551
27 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.0872
28 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1573 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!