Six teams added to 2012 MotoGP entry

Friday 17th June, 2011 - 3:33pm


Just 15 bikes started the British Grand Prix last weekend

Just 15 bikes started the British Grand Prix last weekend

Six additional teams have officially been awarded a place on the 2012 MotoGP grid under the category’s new ‘Claiming Rule Teams’ regulations.

Queroseno Racing, Forward Racing, Kiefer Racing, Marc VDS Racing, Paddock GP Racing and Speed Master – all of which currently enter bikes in either the 125cc or Moto2 World Championships – have each been given a single entry into next year’s championship.

MotoGP will be switching to a new 1000cc formula next year, while also introducing the CRT concept, designed to assist non-factory teams compete at an affordable level.

The CRTs will be allowed to use 12, rather than just 9, engines throughout the season, and will be permitted 24 litre fuel tanks, as opposed to the 21 litre units seen in the factory bikes.

While final details of the claiming rule concept have yet to be sorted, it is intended that a manufacturer will be able to buy the current race engine (and gearbox/transmission) from any of the CRT squads after each race for €20,000.

In addition to the aforementioned six teams, MotoGP organisers are believed to be in negotiations with several manufacturers to also join the grid next season, as it tries to lift the bike-count from a measly 15 starters at last weekend’s British Grand Prix.

Aprilia, Norton, Kawasaki and BMW are all rumoured to be considering a presence on the 2012 MotoGP grid. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!