Greg Murphy sets the pace at Hidden Valley

Friday 17th June, 2011 - 11:43am


Greg Murphy on track at Hidden Valley

Pepsi Max Crew’s Greg Murphy has set the early pace at Hidden Valley Raceway, topping the time sheets in the first practice session.

The four-time Bathurst winner set a time of 1m09.8860s, more than 0.3s faster than the next best.

As expected, 23-cars turned laps of the Darwin circuit – with today’s opening two 30 minute practice sessions set aside for the bottom 50% of the championship runners, as well as the Phillip Island and Bathurst co-drivers.

Second fastest was Craig Baird, driving the #61 Walkinshaw Racing Commodore VE. Baird will leave directly from Darwin, bound for Germany to compete in the Porsche Carrera World Cup.

Team BOC’s Jason Richards was third in Jason Bright’s race-winning Commodore, ahead of Paul Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing), Tim Slade (Lucky 7 Racing) and David Reynolds (Stratco Racing).

TeamVodafone’s endurance racer Mark Skaife was seventh ahead of Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing), Cameron McConville (Toll HRT) and Karl Reindler (Fair Dinkum Sheds).

The second practice session will be held at 12pm.

See below for the full Practice 1 result

1 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:09.8850
2 Bundaberg Racing Craig Baird Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.1926 0:00.3076
3 Team Boc Jason Richards Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.2040 0:00.3190
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:10.2699 0:00.3849
5 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:10.4613 0:00.5763
6 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.4703 0:00.5853
7 TeamVodafone Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.6235 0:00.7385
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.7036 0:00.8186
9 Toll Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.8912 0:01.0062
10 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.0018 0:01.1168
11 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.1800 0:01.2950
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM Marcus Marshall Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.3496 0:01.4646
13 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.3621 0:01.4771
14 Trading Post FPR Falcon Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 1:11.5005 0:01.6155
15 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:11.5389 0:01.6539
16 Wilson Security Racing T.D’Alberto/D.Wood Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.6471 0:01.7621
17 Toll Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.6946 0:01.8096
18 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:11.7866 0:01.9016
19 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8104 0:01.9254
20 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8269 0:01.9419
21 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:11.9281 0:02.0431
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.8055 0:02.9205
23 Mother Energy Racing Team J.Webb/R.Lyons Ford Falcon FG 1:13.0470 0:03.1620

See below for’s Hidden Valley Race Guide comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!