Button downs Vettel in final lap thriller

Monday 13th June, 2011 - 7:06am


Chaos was the order of the day in Montreal

Chaos was the order of the day in Montreal

Jenson Button has taken victory in an extraordinary finish to a rain-delayed Canadian Grand Prix.

The 2009 World Champion made six pitstops, including a drive-through penalty for speeding under Safety Car during a race which included a two-hour rain delay and five full-course caution periods.

Sebastian Vettel had controlled the race for 69 of its 70 laps, before falling off the road on the final tour while under pressure from a charging Button.

Mark Webber passed Michael Schumacher for third place with just three laps remaining, while Vitaly Petrov and Felipe Massa rounded out the top six.

Kamui Kobayashi took seventh, ahead of Jaime Alguersuari, Rubens Barrichello and Sebastien Buemi.

The race started in full-wet conditions, with the Safety Car required to lead the field for the opening four laps.

When racing finally got underway, it took just one corner for Lewis Hamilton to find himself in trouble – turning Mark Webber around in front of the field.

The Australian spun back to 16th place, while Hamilton’s race lasted just three more laps before contact with his team-mate Button and the pit wall ended his day and required the Safety Car once again (CLICK HERE for separate story).

When racing resumed on Lap 8, Button trailed the Safety Car into pitlane for intermediate tyres, with the majority of the front-runners following a lap later.

Several drivers, including Fernando Alonso, Mark Webber, Michael Schumacher and Jenson Button returned to the pits when rain arrived on Lap 20 – with the weather intense enough to quickly bring out the Safety Car and then red flag.

When the standing water finally cleared, the Safety Car was again called upon to recommence proceedings, with green flag racing not returning until Lap 35.

The green flags triggered a scramble for intermediate tyres, with Button again among the first to move to the alternate rubber.

The Safety Car was out again just three laps later however, when Alonso and Button clashed in the Turn 3/4 chicane – ending the Ferrari driver’s race, and sending Button back to the pits to replace a punctured tyre.

Vettel, who took the Safety Car as an opportunity to pit for a set of inters of his own, once again led comfortably after the restart, pulling away from closest pursuers Kamui Kobayashi, Felipe Massa and Vitaly Petrov.

The race’s longest green flag spell saw 10 laps of running before Mark Webber initiated a move onto the Super Soft compound slick tyres.

The shuffling saw Schumacher, Webber and Button emerge in second through fourth positions by the time the final Safety Car was called for debris with 13 laps to run. The rubble had been left on the run to Turn 4 after a nose-to-tail collision between Kamui Kobayashi and Nick Heidfeld that saw the German pitched into the escape road with a broken front-wing.

Schumacher, Webber and Button scrapped for several laps after the restart, with Button eventually passing his rivals into the final chicane on successive laps (64 and 65) before setting his sights on Vettel.

Having finally made it inside the one-second DRS ‘zone’ on the penultimate lap, Button forced the German into a mistake into Turn 6 on the final tour to sweep through for a memorable victory.

The result sees Button leap from fourth to second in the points standings, 60 points behind Vettel and seven ahead of Webber.

Button was investigated post-race for his collision with Alonso, but no penalty was applied.

See below for the full result

Pos Grid Driver Team Laps Time/Retired
1 7 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 70 Winner
2 1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 70 +2.7 secs
3 4 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 70 +13.8 secs
4 8 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 70 +14.2 secs
5 10 Vitaly Petrov Renault 70 +20.3 secs
6 3 Felipe Massa Ferrari 70 +33.2 secs
7 13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 70 +33.2 secs
8 18 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 70 +35.9 secs
9 16 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 70 +45.1 secs
10 15 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 70 +47.0 secs
11 6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 70 +50.4 secs
12 17 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 70 +63.6 secs
13 21 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap
14 23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap
15 24 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap
16 22 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap
17 19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 69 +1 Lap
18 11 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 67 +3 Laps
Ret 12 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 61 +9 Laps
Ret 9 Nick Heidfeld Renault 55 +15 Laps
Ret 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 49 +21 Lapss
Ret 2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 36 +34 Laps
Ret 20 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 28 +42 Laps
Ret 5 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 7 +63 Laps

See below for the championship points after the Canadian Grand Prix

Pos Driver Points
1 Sebastian Vettel 161
2 Jenson Button 101
3 Mark Webber 94
4 Lewis Hamilton 85
5 Fernando Alonso 69
6 Felipe Massa 32
7 Vitaly Petrov 31
8 Nick Heidfeld 29
9 Michael Schumacher 26
10 Nico Rosberg 26
11 Kamui Kobayashi 25
12 Adrian Sutil 8
13 Sebastien Buemi 8
14 Jaime Alguersuari 4
15 Rubens Barrichello 4
16 Sergio Perez 2
17 Paul di Resta 2
18 Pedro de la Rosa 0
19 Jarno Trulli 0
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi 0
21 Jerome d’Ambrosio 0
22 Heikki Kovalainen 0
23 Narain Karthikeyan 0
24 Pastor Maldonado 0
25 Timo Glock 0 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!