Vettel holds off Ferraris for Montreal pole

Vettel took pole number six for the season in Montreal

Vettel took pole number six for the season in Montreal

Sebastian Vettel has continued his rich vein of form to take pole position for the Canadian Grand Prix.

The Red Bull Racing star’s best Q3 effort was enough to withstand late challenges from Ferrari team-mates Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa, who will line-up second and third on the grid respectively.

Despite threatening skies, conditions remained dry for the entire qualifying session, with each of the front-runners completing two runs in Q3.

Mark Webber was fourth fastest in the final qualifying period, managing to get within 0.5s of his team-mate Vettel despite not having KERS available to him during the session.

The Mercedes-powered quartet of Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Jenson Button and Michael Schumacher filled fifth through eighth.

The McLaren drivers, who were expected to fight for pole position, are believed to have gambled on a high downforce set-up in order to suit the wet weather predicted for tomorrow’s Grand Prix.

Renault’s Nick Heidfeld and Vitaly Petrov rounded out the top 10, while rookies Paul di Resta and Pastor Maldonado will share the sixth row having narrowly missed out on making Q3.

Pedro de la Rosa will make his first start of the season from 17th position after a tough session that saw the Spaniard make contact with the wall on the outside of Turn 7. Earlier in the day, de la Rosa had brought an early end to Practice 3 by crashing at Turn 4.

Jaime Alguersuari also suffered a challenging qualifying – dropping out in Q1 after complaining of heavy oversteer.

Here are the video highlights

See below for the full qualifying result

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m13.014s
2. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m13.199s + 0.185
3. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m13.217s + 0.203
4. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m13.429s + 0.415
5. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m13.565s + 0.551
6. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m13.814s + 0.800
7. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m13.838s + 0.824
8. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m13.864s + 0.850
9. Nick Heidfeld Renault 1m14.062s + 1.048
10. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m14.085s + 1.071
11. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m14.752s + 1.321
12. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1m15.043s + 1.612
13. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m15.285s + 1.854
14. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m15.287s + 1.856
15. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m15.334s + 1.903
16. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m15.361s + 1.930
17. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1m15.587s + 2.156
18. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m16.294s + 2.472
19. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1m16.745s + 2.923
20. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1m16.786s + 2.964
21. Tonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1m18.424s + 4.602
22. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m18.537s + 4.715
23. Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m18.574s + 4.752
24. Jerome D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m19.414s + 5.592

Click below to view the Montreal Race Guide

Comments are closed.