Alex Tagliani takes another IndyCar pole

Saturday 11th June, 2011 - 10:03am


Alex Tagliani has secured his second IndyCar pole in a row

Alex Tagliani has secured his second IndyCar pole in a row

Alex Tagliani has taken his second IZOD IndyCar Series pole position in a row, securing the top spot for this weekend’s unique twin-race format at Texas Motor Speedway.

Tagliani, driving the #77 Bowers and Wilkins car for Sam Schmidt Motorsports, set an average two-lap speed of 215.186mph, edging out Dario Franchitti (214.801mph) will start second in the #10 Huggies car for Target Chip Ganassi Racing.

Tagliani was recently confirmed as a driver for the Armor All Gold Coast 600, signing with Kelly Racing.

Australian Will Power (214.716mph), who won the pole for all four road/street races to kick off the season will line-up third alongside former Formula One driver Takuma Sato (214.470mph). The qualifying performance is Sato’s best IndyCar performance.

Rounding out the top 10 is Ed Carpenter (214.373mph), Tony Kanaan (214.252mph), Scott Dixon (214.021mph), rookie Kiwi Wade Cunningham (214.013mph), Australian Ryan Briscoe (213.891mph) and Danica Patrick (213.850mph).

JR Hildebrand, who went so close to winning the Indy 500 last month, will line-up 11th.

The grid for the second of tomorrow night’s races will be determined by a random draw after the first race.

Power, currently leading the title, predicts that the title will again go down to the wire, judging by the competitiveness of this year’s series.

“I’m sure it’s going to go down to the last race,” said Power, who was beaten in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway by Franchitti.

“Just so many strong drivers and teams this year. You can see how mixed up it can get, especially with double-file restarts. You can be leading and then taken out, it’s that easy. So I see a very mixed-up season with a lot of different winners.”

See below for the complete grid for the first leg of the Texas Twin 275s.

Pos Driver Team Speed
1. Alex Tagliani Sam Schmidt 215.186
2. Dario Franchitti Ganassi 214.801
3. Will Power Penske 214.716
4. Takuma Sato KV 214.470
5. Ed Carpenter Sarah Fisher 214.373
6. Tony Kanaan KV 214.252
7. Scott Dixon Ganassi 214.021
8. Wade Cunningham Sam Schmidt 214.013
9. Ryan Briscoe Penske 213.891
10. Danica Patrick Andretti 213.850
11. JR Hildebrand Panther 213.458
12. Vitor Meira Foyt 213.429
13. Helio Castroneves Penske 213.232
14. Oriol Servia Newman/Haas 213.023
15. James Hinchcliffe Newman/Haas 212.970
16. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti 212.938
17. Charlie Kimball Ganassi 212.797
18. Davey Hamilton Dreyer & Reinbold 212.555
19. EJ Viso KV 212.494
20. Graham Rahal Ganassi 212.404
21. Paul Tracy Dragon 212.305
22. Mike Conway Andretti 212.260
23. Marco Andretti Andretti 212.223
24. Ana Beatriz Dreyer & Reinbold 212.221
25. Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne 212.091
26. Sebastian Saavedra Conquest 212.033
27. Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold 211.762
28. Jay Howard Rahal/Schmidt 211.691
29. Simona de Silvestro HVM 210.855
30. James Jakes Dale Coyne

Also, see below for a special question and answer video with Australian Ryan Briscoe. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!