Audi on pole at Le Mans

Friday 10th June, 2011 - 10:48am


Benoit Treluyer has put Audi on pole position at Le Mans

For the first time since 2006, Audi will start on pole for the Le Mans 24 Hours with Benoit Treluyer making the most of a clear run to set the fastest time in the evening qualifying session.

Treluyer who will share the R18 TDI with Marcel Fassler and André Lotterer, will start on the front row with another Audi of Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas and Mike Rockenfeller.

Traffic was the major issue for the Peugeot 908s, with any late charge thwarted by backmarkers. The second row will have Sébastien Bourdai, Simon Pagenaud and PedroLamy alongside another 908 of Stéphane Sarrazin, Franck Montagny and Nicolas Minassian.

The second and final qualifying session was held into the darkness of the Circuit de la Sarthe; the cooler air conditions providing for quicker times over the 13.629-kilometre lap.

The #1 Audi R18 (Bernhard/Dumas/Rockenfeller) captured the provisional pole early in the session. Times did not improve until Tréluyer (Audi #2) took the top spot and it appeared that it could be an Audio 1-2-3 when Tom Kristensen pushed hard but ended the session by going off the track at Tertre Rouge.

In the GT division, Andy Priaulx in his BMW crashed heavily, but along with Joey Hand and Dirk Muller still set the third quickest time in the class. The quickest time went to the Ferrari of Giancarlo Fisichella/ Gianmaria Bruni/Toni Vilander ahead of the BMW of Augusto Farfus/ Jörg Muller/ Dirk Werner.

The race twice around the clock starts at 10pm Saturday evening Australian time.

Video of Priaulx accident

Le Mans 24 Hours : Qualifying

Pos Class Drivers Team/Car Time
1 LMP1 Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer Audi R18 TDI 3:25.738
2 LMP1 Bernhard/Dumas/Rockenfeller Audi R18 TDI 3:25.799
3 LMP1 Lamy/Bourdais/Pagenaud Peugeot 908 3:26.010
4 LMP1 Montagny/Sarrazin/Minassian Peugeot 908 3:26.156
5 LMP1 Capello/Kristensen/McNish Audi R18 TDI 3:26.165
6 LMP1 Gene/Wurz/Davidson Peugeot 908 3:26.272
7 LMP1 Lapierre/Duval/Panis ORECA Peugeot 908 Hdi-FAP 3:30.084
8 LMP1 Jani/Prost/Bleekemolen Rebellion Lola-Toyota 3:32.883
9 LMP1 Collard/Tinseau/Jousse Pescarolo-Judd 3:33.066
10 LMP1 Belicchi/Boullion/Smith Rebellion Lola-Toyota 3:34.573
11 LMP1 Monteiro/Moreau/Ragues Oak Pescarolo-Judd 3:34.933
12 LMP1 Ickx/Martin/Leinders Kronos Aston Martin 3:36.551
13 LMP1 Amaral/Pla/Hughes Quifel-ASM Zytek 3:37.393
14 LMP2 Mailleux/Ordonez/Ayari Signatech ORECA-Nissan 3:41.458
15 LMP1 Hein/Nicolet/Yvon Oak Pescarolo-Judd 3:41.908
16 LMP2 Leventis/Watts/Kane Strakka HPD ARX-01d 3:42.615
17 LMP2 Premat/Hallyday/Kraihamer Oreca-Nissan 3:43.098
18 LMP2 Perez Companc/Russo/Kaffer Pecom Lola-Judd 3:43.223
19 LMP2 Nakano/De Crem/Charouz Oak Racing Pescarolo-BMW 3:43.479
20 LMP2 Ojjeh/Kimber-Smith/Lombard Greaves Zytek-Nissan 3:43.812
21 LMP2 Frey/Meichtry/Rostan Race Performance ORECA-Judd 3:44.294s
22 LMP1 Mucke/Turner/Klien Aston Martin AMR-One 3:45.918
23 LMP2 Erdos/Newton/Collins RML HPD ARX-01d 3:47.308
24 LMP1 Zacchia/Lammers/Elgaard Hope ORECA 3:47.691
25 LMP1 Primat/Fernandez/Meyrick Aston Martin AMR-One 3:48.355
26 LMP2 Rosier/Haezbrouck/Fournoux Extreme Limite Norma-Judd 3:48.420
27 LMP2 Barlesi/Da Rocha/Lafargue Oak Pescarolo-Judd 3:48.665
28 LMP2 Tucker/Bouchut/Barbosa Level 5 Lola-Honda 3:48.863
29 GTE P Fisichella/Bruni/Vilander AF Corse Ferrari 3:58.040s
30 GTE P Farfus/Muller/Werner BMW M3 3:57.592
31 GTE P Priaulx/Muller/Hand BMW M3 3:58.426
32 GTE P Gavin/Magnussen/Westbrook Corvette C6 ZR1 3:59.519
33 GTE P Farnbacher/Simonsen/Keen Farnbacher Ferrari 3:59.519
34 GTE P Beretta/Milner/Garcia Corvette C6 ZR1 3:59.633
35 GTE P Lieb/Lietz/Henzler Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 3:59.662
36 GTE P Ortelli/Makowiecki/Melo Luxury Racing Ferrari 3:59.901
37 GTE P Goossens/Holzer/Van Lagen Prospeed Porsche 3:59.962
38 GTE P Dolan/Hancock/Buncombe Jota Aston Martin 4:00.747
39 GTE P Bell/Sugden/Maasen JMW Ferrari 4:00.890
40 GTE P Bergmeister/Long/Luhr Flying Lizard Porsche 4:01.024
41 GTE P Beltoise/Jakubowski/Thiret Luxury Racing Ferrari 4:01.176
42 GTE A Perazzini/Cioci/Breslin AF Corse Ferrari 4:01.282
43 GTE P Al Faisal/Tandy/Miller Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 4:01.752s
44 GTE P Kauffman/Waltrip/Aguas AF Corse Ferrari 4:02.216
45 GTE P Pilet/Narac/Armindo IMSA Performance Porsche 4:02.548
46 GTE A Felbermayr/Felbermayr/Ried Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 4:03.532
47 GTE A Niemen/Law/Pumpelly Flying Lizard Porsche 4:03.648
48 GTE A Bourret/Gibon/Belloc Larbre Porsche 4:03.918
49 GTE A Rodrigues/Menahem/Marroc JMB ORECA 4:04.640
50 GTE A Giroix/Goethe/Wainwright Gulf Aston Martin 4:04.825
51 GTE A Krohn/Jonsson/Rugulo Krohn Ferrari 4:05.211
52 GTE A Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel Larbre Porsche 4:05.955
53 GTE A Ehret/Lynn/Wills CRS Ferrari 4:07.236
54 GTE P Hirschi/Rossiter/Mowlem Jetalliance Lotus Evora 4:07.465
55 GTE A Robertson/Robertson/Murry Robertson Racing Ford-Doran 4:08.208
56 GTE P Rich/Slingerland/Hartshorne Jetalliance Lotus Evora 4:12.569 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!