Sarrazin puts Peugeot on top at Le Mans

Stephane Sarrazin was fastest in opening qualifying

Stephane Sarrazin was fastest in opening qualifying

Frenchman Stephane Sarrazin has handed Peugeot provisional pole position for the Le Mans 24 Hours in a surprise end to the opening day of qualifying.

Sarrazin, who will drive alongside fellow local heroes Franck Montagny and Nicolas Minassian, set a best time of 3:27.033s in the final half hour of the two hour session to stop a one-two-three result for Audi’s R18.

Andre Lotterer emerged fastest of the Audi pilots – some 0.9s slower than Sarrazin – ahead of reigning race winner Mike Rockenfeller and eight-time victor Tom Kristensen.

The Peugeots of Alex Wurz and pole favourite Sebastien Bourdais rounded out the factory entries in fifth and sixth, while the Oreca Peugeot was seventh – 5.4s quicker than the quickest petrol-powered Pescarolo entry.

The Aston Martin AMR-Ones continued their horror race build up, with the two factory cars ending the session 26th and 27th after suffering mechanical issues.

The Leventis/Watts/Kane Strakka HPD emerged fastest in LMP2, despite a crash from Leventis late in the session.

The Priaulx/Muller/Hand BMW beat the Fisichella/Bruni/Vilander Ferrari to be the fastest GTE Pro  entry, while the Bourret/Gibon/Belloc Porsche was comfortably on top in GTE Am.

Final qualifying will be held tomorrow, ahead of an 11pm (Australian time) race start on Saturday.

See below for the provisional qualifying result

Pos Class Drivers Team/Car Time
1. LMP1 Montagny/Sarrazin/Minassian Peugeot 908 3m27.033s
2. LMP1 Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer Audi R18 TDI 3m27.939s
3. LMP1 Bernhard/Dumas/Rockenfeller Audi R18 TDI 3m27.949s
4. LMP1 Capello/Kristensen/McNish Audi R18 TDI 3m28.301s
5. LMP1 Gene/Wurz/Davidson Peugeot 908 3m28.796s
6. LMP1 Lamy/Bourdais/Pagenaud Peugeot 908 3m29.466s
7. LMP1 Lapierre/Duval/Panis ORECA Peugeot 908 Hdi-FAP 3m30.084s
8. LMP1 Collard/Tinseau/Jousse Pescarolo-Judd 3m35.456s
9. LMP1 Jani/Prost/Bleekemolen Rebellion Lola-Toyota 3m37.404s
10. LMP1 Belicchi/Boullion/Smith Rebellion Lola-Toyota 3m38.351s
11. LMP1 Monteiro/Moreau/Ragues Oak Pescarolo-Judd 3m39.672s
12. LMP1 Amaral/Pla/Hughes Quifel-ASM Zytek 3m41.019s
13. LMP2 Leventis/Watts/Kane Strakka HPD ARX-01d 3m42.615s
14. LMP2 Mailleux/Ordonez/Ayari Signatech ORECA-Nissan 3m43.124s
15. LMP2 Premat/Hallyday/Kraihamer Oreca-Nissan 3m43.654s
16. LMP2 Ojjeh/Kimber-Smith/Lombard Greaves Zytek-Nissan 3m43.814s
17. LMP2 Frey/Meichtry/Rostan Race Performance ORECA-Judd 3m44.294s
18. LMP1 Ickx/Martin/Leinders Kronos Aston Martin 3m44.415s
19. LMP2 Perez Companc/Russo/Kaffer Pecom Lola-Judd 3m45.997s
20. LMP2 Erdos/Newton/Collins RML HPD ARX-01d 3m47.308s
21. LMP1 Zacchia/Lammers/Elgaard Hope ORECA 3m47.691s
22. LMP2 Nakano/De Crem/Charouz Oak Racing Pescarolo-BMW 3m48.211s
23. LMP1 Hein/Nicolet/Yvon Oak Pescarolo-Judd 3m48.852s
24. LMP2 Tucker/Bouchut/Barbosa Level 5 Lola-Honda 3m51.149s
25. LMP2 Rosier/Haezbrouck/Fournoux Extreme Limite Norma-Judd 3m51.438s
26. LMP1 Primat/Fernandez/Meyrick Aston Martin AMR-One 3m56.637s
27. LMP1 Mucke/Turner/Klien Aston Martin AMR-One 3m56.847s
28. LMP2 Barlesi/Da Rocha/Lafargue Oak Pescarolo-Judd 3m57.453s
29. GTE P Priaulx/Muller/Hand BMW M3 3m58.426s
30. GTE P Fisichella/Bruni/Vilander AF Corse Ferrari 3m58.989s
31. GTE P Farfus/Muller/Werner BMW M3 3m59.321s
32. GTE P Gavin/Magnussen/Westbrook Corvette C6 ZR1 3m59.519s
33. GTE P Beretta/Milner/Garcia Corvette C6 ZR1 3m59.633s
34. GTE P Ortelli/Makowiecki/Melo Luxury Racing Ferrari 3m59.901s
35. GTE P Goossens/Holzer/Van Lagen Prospeed Porsche 3m59.962s
36. GTE P Lieb/Lietz/Henzler Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 3m59.998s
37. GTE P Farnbacher/Simonsen/Keen Farnbacher Ferrari 4m00.260s
38. GTE P Dolan/Hancock/Buncombe Jota Aston Martin 4m00.747s
39. GTE P Bergmeister/Long/Luhr Flying Lizard 4m01.480s
40. GTE P Beltoise/Jakubowski/Thiret Luxury Racing Ferrari 4m02.017s
41. GTE P Al Faisal/Tandy/Miller Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 4m02.049s
42. GTE A Bourret/Gibon/Belloc Larbre Porsche 4m03.918s
43. GTE A Niemen/Law/Pumpelly Flying Lizard Porsche 4m04.747s
44. GTE A Giroix/Goethe/Wainwright Gulf Aston Martin 4m04.825s
45. GTE A Felbermayr/Felbermayr/Ried Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 4m05.154s
46. GTE A Krohn/Jonsson/Rugulo Krohn Ferrari 4m05.856s
47. GTE A Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel Larbre Porsche 4m05.955s
48. GTE P Bell/Sugden/Maasen JMW Ferrari 4m06.884s
49. GTE P Hirschi/Rossiter/Mowlem Jetalliance Lotus Evora 4m07.465s
50. GTE P Kauffman/Waltrip/Aguas AF Corse Ferrari 4m08.213s
51. GTE A Perazzini/Cioci/Breslin AF Corse Ferrari 4m10.316s
52. GTE A Rodrigues/Menahem/Marroc JMB ORECA 4m10.335s
53. GTE P Rich/Slingerland/Hartshorne Jetalliance Lotus Evora 4m17.379s
54. GTE A Ehret/Lynn/Wills CRS Ferrari 4m26.249s
55. GTE A Robertson/Robertson/Murry Robertson Racing Ford-Doran no time
56. GTE P Pilet/Narac/Armindo IMSA Performance Porsche no time

Comments are closed.