Chad Reed hits High Point

Chad Reed

Motocross star Chad Reed returns to a track that holds special significance to the Australian rider.

Two years ago, Reed renewed his passion for outdoors racing with a significant win at High Point Raceway in his first full motocross season on a 450cc machine.

He went on to dominate the 2009 AMA Pro Motocross Championship and returns to what is a happy hunting-ground this weekend for the third round of the 2011 championship.

With a new team and bike, the TwoTwo Motorsports/Bel-Ray Racing rider is riding high following two wins from two starts, and will be favourite for victory again at the Mt Morris, Pennsylvania track.

Reed said he expected his competitors to return fire after mixed results in the initial rounds.

“We haven’t dropped our guard at all despite the lead, it’s important to stay focused and keep testing and training especially with a week off,” said Reed.

“It’s been a really positive start for the team and we’re learning more and more about the motorcycle every time we go out there.

“A few things fell my way at the last round and I know wins will be harder to come by as these guys step things up again.

“You can be consistent be you also need to be fast – I feel like we’re strong in both areas and am really looking forward to getting back out there and having some fun at the track where I won my first overall on a 450.”

Reed leads Supercross champion Ryan Villopoto by 21 points, with Davi Millsaps a further 4 points back.

The High Point National marks the third of twelve total rounds to be contested in the 2011 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

450cc Class Championship Standings

Pos Rider Place of Origin Motorcycle Points
1 Chad Reed Kurri Kurri : New South Wales Honda 97
2 Ryan Villopoto Poulsbo : Washington Kawasaki 76
3 Davi Millsaps Murrieta : California Yamaha 72
4 Ryan Dungey Belle Plaine : Minnesota Suzuki 69
5 Brett Metcalfe Mannum : South Australia Suzuki 64
6 Ricky Dietrich Menifee : California Yamaha 53
7 Christian Craig Hemet : California Honda 47
8 Kevin Windham Centreville : Mississippi Honda 45
9 Jake Weimer Rupert : Idaho Kawasaki 44
10 Tommy Hahn Decatur : Texas Yamaha 40


Comments are closed.