Kurt Busch takes pole at Kansas

Sunday 5th June, 2011 - 11:35am


Kurt Busch

Kurt Busch will start from pole at Kansas

Kurt Busch has taken pole for the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway, reversing a decade of tough luck at the 1.5-mile track.

Busch, who had never started higher than seventh in 10 career starts in Kansas and has never finished in the top five, will start from the front after averaging 174.752mph.

Juan Montoya will start second ahead of Kyle Busch, Brian Vickers and Joey Lagano. Australian Marcos Ambrose will start from 35th place.

Cup points leader Carl Edwards will start seventh – the highest placed Ford.

Kurt Busch heaped praise on his team for the top spot.

“I have to thank my guys for standing behind me, not just through Friday (where he endured a spin in practice) but through some of the tough times we’ve been through as of late,” Busch said.

“It’s an amazing world, the world of motorsports. One day you’re down, the next day you’re up.”

Starting line-up for Kansas.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap
1. Kurt Busch Penske Dodge 30.901s
2. Juan Pablo Montoya Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet 31.007s + 0.106s
3. Kyle Busch Gibbs Toyota 31.020s + 0.119s
4. Brian Vickers Red Bull Toyota 31.036s + 0.135s
5. Joey Logano Gibbs Toyota 31.061s + 0.160s
6. Jamie McMurray Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet 31.087s + 0.186s
7. Carl Edwards Roush Fenway Ford 31.097s + 0.196s
8. Martin Truex Jr Waltrip Toyota 31.104s + 0.203s
9. Paul Menard Childress Chevrolet 31.108s + 0.207s
10. Kevin Harvick Childress Chevrolet 31.125s + 0.224s
11. Regan Smith Furniture Row Chevrolet 31.138s + 0.237s
12. Ryan Newman Stewart Haas Chevrolet 31.144s + 0.243s
13. Tony Stewart Stewart Haas Chevrolet 31.149s + 0.248s
14. Greg Biffle Roush Fenway Ford 31.169s + 0.268s
15. Denny Hamlin Gibbs Toyota 31.179s + 0.278s
16. Jeff Burton Childress Chevrolet 31.196s + 0.295s
17. Kasey Kahne Red Bull Toyota 31.208s + 0.307s
18. Mark Martin Hendrick Chevrolet 31.231s + 0.330s
19. David Ragan Roush Fenway Ford 31.240s + 0.339s
20. Bobby Labonte JTG Daugherty Toyota 31.255s + 0.354s
21. Matt Kenseth Roush Fenway Ford 31.258s + 0.357s
22. Jeff Gordon Hendrick Chevrolet 31.259s + 0.358s
23. David Reutimann Waltrip Toyota 31.264s + 0.363s
24. Landon Cassill Phoenix Chevrolet 31.265s + 0.364s
25. Brad Keselowski Penske Dodge 31.303s + 0.402s
26. AJ Allmendinger Petty Ford 31.353s + 0.452s
27. Clint Bowyer Childress Chevrolet 31.389s + 0.488s
28. Dale Earnhardt Jr Hendrick Chevrolet 31.417s + 0.516s
29. David Stremme Inception Chevrolet 31.418s + 0.517s
30. Travis Kvapil Front Row Ford 31.446s + 0.545s
31. Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Chevrolet 31.473s + 0.572s
32. JJ Yeley Whitney Chevrolet 31.484s + 0.583s
33. Casey Mears Germain Toyota 31.487s + 0.586s
34. Joe Nemechek NEMCO Toyota 31.497s + 0.596s
35. Marcos Ambrose Petty Ford 31.533s + 0.632s
36. Scott Riggs Whitney Chevrolet 31.582s + 0.681s
37. Michael McDowell HP Toyota 31.616s + 0.715s
38. David Gilliland Front Row Ford 31.625s + 0.724s
39. Andy Lally TRG Chevrolet 31.655s + 0.754s
40. Patrick Carpentier FAS Lane Ford 31.852s + 0.951s
41. Johnny Sauter Gordon Dodge 31.975s + 1.074s
42. Dave Blaney Baldwin Chevrolet 32.173s + 1.272s
43. Mike Skinner Germain Toyota 31.753s + 0.852s comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!