Hänninen wins IRC in Ukraine

Sunday 5th June, 2011 - 7:00am


Juho Hänninen – Škoda Motorsport Fabia Super 2000

Juho Hänninen has become the most successful driver in the history of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) after winning the Prime Yalta Rally in Ukraine.

Driving a Škoda Motorsport Fabia Super 2000, the Finn’s triumph moves him ahead of Freddy Loix with seven wins having previously been tied with the Belgian on six.

Hänninen’s maximum score puts him back on top of the IRC drivers’ standings with Škoda edging ahead of Peugeot in the race for the prestigious IRC manufacturers’ award.

Hänninen started Saturday’s final six stages leading Bryan Bouffier by 8.2-seconds. He appeared to have gained the edge over his rival by going quicker than the Frenchman through stage nine only for Bouffier to hit back on the next two runs to the extent they were separated by 5.1-seconds at the midmorning service. However, a charging display by Hänninen on stage 12 proved the difference. Although Bouffier went fastest of all on the final stage, it wasn’t enough to prevent Hänninen from claiming his second win of the season.

Bouffier’s capture of second was the perfect response to his final-stage crash on the previous round in Corsica and fires the Peugeot France 207 driver back into title contention.

Jan Kopecký finished third in front of Andreas Mikkelsen, who had to make late roadside repairs to his Skoda after spinning backwards into a small tree after touching a patch of gravel. The impact inflicted damage to the exhaust and right-rear corner of his Fabia but he repaired the car by attaching a ratchet strap to a lamppost to pull some flailing bodywork clear of the exhaust.

Guy Wilks finished fifth but was after a far better result. After being delayed by two punctures during the event, he suffered another deflation on the final stage, caused by striking the concrete block holding the flying finish sign!

Thierry Neuville arrived in Ukraine boosted by his maiden IRC victory on the previous round in Corsica. While a high-speed off and a puncture on Friday ultimately wrecked his chances of a repeat win, he showed plenty of pace throughout the event ahead of his home round of the IRC, the Geko Ypres Rally from 23-25 June.

Giandomenico Basso, who was fifth after four stages, reached Friday night’s service in 10th overall but didn’t restart on Saturday owing to concerns that damage to his Proton Motorsports’ Satria Neo S2000’s engine on day two could prove terminal if he continued. Team-mate PG Andersson stopped with oil pressure issues on Friday.

Final Results : Prime Yalta Rally – Ukraine

Pos Driver Car Model Time
1 Juho Hänninen Škoda Fabia S2000 2:54:04.0
2 Bryan Bouffier Peugeot 207 S2000 0:00:11.7
3 Jan Kopecký Škoda Fabia S2000 0:00:38.7
4 Andreas  Mikkelsen Škoda Fabia S2000 0:00:57.3
5 Guy Wilks Peugeot 207 S2000 0:04:04.0
6 Thierry Neuville Peugeot 207 S2000 0:05:01.5
7 Toni Gardemeister Škoda Fabia S2000 0:07:59.3
8 Karl Kruuda Škoda Fabia S2000 0:10:01.3
9 Patrik Sandell Škoda Fabia S2000 0:18:08.9
10 Jean-Michel Raoux Renault Clio 0:22:09.0


Drivers’ Standings

Pos Driver Car Model Points
1 Juho Hänninen Škoda Fabia S2000 58
2 Jan Kopecký Škoda Fabia S2000 55
3 Bryan Bouffier Peugeot 207 S2000 49
4 Thierry Neuville Peugeot 207 S2000 48
5 Freddy Loix Škoda Fabia S2000 45
6 Guy Wilks Peugeot 207 S2000 35
7 Andreas Mikkelsen Škoda Fabia S2000 28
8 Bruno Magalhães Peugeot 207 S2000 14
9 Toni Gardemeister Škoda Fabia S2000 12
9 Piere Campana Peugeot 207 S2000 12
9 Stéphane Sarrazin Peugeot 207 S2000 12


Manufacturers’ Standings

Pos Car Model Points
1 Škoda Fabia S2000 146
2 Peugeot 207 S2000 134
3 Subaur Impreza WRX 33
4 Honda Civic 28
5 Ford Fiesta S2000 27
6 Proton Satria Neo S2000 16
6 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 16
8 Fiat Punto S2000 4 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!