Sebastian Vettel on pole again for Red Bull

Saturday 28th May, 2011 - 11:41pm


Vettel took his first ever Monaco pole

Vettel took his first ever Monaco pole

Sebastian Vettel has extended Red Bull Racing’s unbeaten 2011 qualifying run by taking pole position for the Monaco Grand Prix.

McLaren’s Jenson Button will start alongside the German on the front-row of the grid, ahead of Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso, Michael Schumacher, Felipe Massa, Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Pastor Maldonado and Sergio Perez.

In somewhat of an anti-climax to the session, the top positions remained unchanged despite a final 2:26s flurry following a red flag delay.

The session had been stopped when Perez crashed his Sauber at the Nouveau Chicane.

According to his team, the Mexican rookie was conscious and talking upon being taken to hospital.

Hamilton had yet to record a lap in Q3 at the time of Perez’s incident, after the McLaren driver aborted his first lap due to Felipe Massa emerging from the pitlane in front of him.

The 2008 World Champion was the first man out for the final portion of the session, but could manage only seventh fastest.

Earlier in the afternoon, Q1 had been a disaster for Toro Rosso’s Jamie Alguersuari, with the Spaniard just 20th fastest, and required to see the stewards after the session thanks to making contact with the rear of one of the Saubers.

Neither Hispania pilot made set a time in Q1 thanks to mechanical issues, although both are expected to receive a dispensation to start the race itself.

UPDATE: Lewis Hamilton has had his Q3 time deleted for cutting the chicane and will start ninth

See below for the qualifying result

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:15.606 1:14.277 1:13.556
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:15.397 1:14.545 1:13.997
3 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:16.087 1:14.742 1:14.019
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:16.051 1:14.569 1:14.483
5 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:16.092 1:14.981 1:14.682
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:16.309 1:14.648 1:14.877
7 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:15.207 1:14.275 1:15.280
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:15.858 1:14.741 1:15.766
9 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1:15.819 1:15.545 1:16.528
10 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:15.918 1:15.482
11 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:16.378 1:15.815
12 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:16.616 1:15.826
13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:16.513 1:15.973
14 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:16.813 1:16.118
15 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:16.600 1:16.121
16 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1:16.681 1:16.214
17 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:16.358 1:16.300
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1:17.343
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1:17.381
20 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:17.820
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:17.914
22 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1:18.736
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth
24 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth

Click below to view’s Monaco Race Guide
Click below to view’s Monaco Race Guide comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!