Fernando Alonso fastest in Monaco practice

Fernando Alonso with the special helmet he'll wear in the next two Grands Prix

Fernando Alonso with the special helmet he'll wear in the next two Grands Prix

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso has ended the opening day of practice for the 2011 Monaco Grand Prix as the fastest man.

The 2006 and 2007 race winner set a 1:15.123s benchmark on Pirelli’s ‘super soft’ compound tyre, which will used for the first time in race conditions this weekend.

Alonso’s best saw the Spaniard 0.11s clear of McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton, while Nico Rosberg, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top five.

It was a fraught day for reigning Monaco winner Mark Webber, with the Australian failing to complete a flying lap in Practice 1 due to a gearbox issue.

Webber then completed a total of 42 laps in the afternoon session despite a KERS problem to emerge eighth fastest.

Tonio Liuzzi missed the afternoon session after crashing on his way into the Nouvelle Chicane in Practice 1, while Michael Schumacher also found the barriers – spinning his Mercedes into the fence at Sainte Devote.

Vitaly Petrov and Jaime Alguersuari had their mishaps in the afternoon, with the pair making minor contact with the walls at Nouvelle and Sainte Devote respectively.

West Australian Toro Rosso test driver Daniel Ricciardo was 14th fastest in Practice 1 – with the session coming immediately after first practice for Formula Renault 3.5, where Ricciardo had set the fastest time.

See below for the full practice results

Practice 2

1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m15.123s
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m15.228s 0.105
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m15.321s 0.198
4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m15.448s 0.325
5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m15.667s 0.544
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m15.781s 0.658
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m16.356s 1.233
8 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m16.642s 1.519
9 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m17.101s 1.978
10 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1m17.126s 2.003
11 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m17.337s 2.214
12 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m17.541s 2.418
13 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m17.570s 2.447
14 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m17.581s 2.458
15 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1m17.633s 2.510
16 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m17.706s 2.583
17 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m17.789s 2.666
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1m18.266s 3.143
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1m18.490s 3.367
20 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m19.053s 3.930
21 Jerome D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m19.185s 4.062
22 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m19.338s 4.215
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m22.066s 6.943


Practice 1

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m16.619s
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m16.732s 0.113
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m17.139s 0.520
4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m17.316s 0.697
5 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m17.350s 0.731
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m17.534s 0.915
7 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1m18.527s 1.908
8 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m18.578s 1.959
9 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m18.733s 2.114
10 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m18.805s 2.186
11 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1m18.928s 2.309
12 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m19.234s 2.615
13 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m19.395s 2.776
14 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m19.463s 2.844
15 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m19.768s 3.149
16 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m19.792s 3.173
17 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1m20.083s 3.464
18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1m21.116s 4.497
19 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m21.548s 4.929
20 Jerome D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m21.758s 5.139
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m21.815s 5.196
22 Tonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1m22.840s 6.221
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m23.885s 7.266
24 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault No time


Click below to view Speedcafe.com’s Monaco Race Guide

Comments are closed.