Ryan Briscoe makes Indy 500 field

Ryan Briscoe

Ryan Briscoe

In a dramatic Bump Day at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Mike Conway and Ryan Hunter-Reay have both failed to qualify for the Indy 500, while Australian Ryan Briscoe snuck into the field for this Sunday’s famous race.

Also through into the race are Danica Patrick, Paul Tracy, Graham Rahal and Marco Andretti, who all produced the goods to make one of the most competitive fields in years.

Briscoe was pleased to get his four laps out of the way.

“We did a consistent run in the mid 224s, and it felt solid,” he said.

“We made improvements on the car overnight. I just can’t tell you how good it feels to get those four laps in. Hopefully, we don’t have to be too stressful the rest of the day. I have a great car. I have a great setup.”

Conway, who last year ended the race in spectacular style when he flipped his car into the catch fencing, could not get the speed he needed during his three qualifying runs.

Hunter-Reay is another high-profile entrant to miss a spot on the grid. He was eventually bumped out by Andretti, who used the last of his attempts to get to 28th position.

Patrick was also looking like missing the cut. Rain threatened to derail her chances, but when the track reopened in the final hour, she quickly got into gear and set a time good enough for 26th place.

Sam Schmidt Motorsports’ Alex Tagliani took pole position in yesterday’s Pole Day session, ahead of Ganassi’s Scott Dixon and Newman/Haas driver Oriol Servia. Australian Will Power will start fifth.

CLICK HERE for a full wrap on Pole Day.

See below for the full 2011 Indianapolis 500 race line-up

1 Alex Tagliani Sam Schmidt 227.472mph
2 Scott Dixon Ganassi 227.340mph
3 Oriol Servia Newman/Haas 227.168mph
4 Townsend Bell Sam Schmidt 226.887mph
5 Will Power Penske 226.773mph
6 Dan Wheldon Herta 226.490mph
7 Buddy Rice Panther 225.786mph
8 Ed Carpenter Sarah Fisher 225.121mph
9 Dario Franchitti Ganassi
10 Takuma Sato KV 225.736mph
11 Vitor Meira Foyt 225.590mph
12 JR Hildebrand Panther 225.579mph
13 James Hinchcliffe Newman/Haas 225.572mph
14 Bertrand Baguette Rahal Letterman Lanigan 225.285mph
15 Davey Hamilton Dreyer & Reinbold 225.250mph
16 Helio Castroneves Penske 225.216mph
17 John Andretti Petty/Andretti 224.981mph
18 EJ Viso KV 224.732mph
19 Bruno Junqueira Foyt 224.691mph
20 Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold 224.511mph
21 Jay Howard Rahal/Schmidt 224.483mph
22 Tomas Scheckter KV/SH 224.433mph
23 Tony Kanaan KV 224.417mph
24 Simona de Silvestro HVM 224.392mph
25 Paul Tracy Dreyer & Reinbold 224.939mph
26 Danica Patrick Andretti 224.861mph
27 Ryan Briscoe Penske 224.639mph
28 Marco Andretti Andretti 224.628mph
29 Charlie Kimball Ganassi 224.499mph
30 Graham Rahal Ganassi 224.380mph
31 Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne 223.957mph
32 Pippa Mann Conquest 223.936mph
33 Ana Beatriz Dreyer & Reinbold 223.879mph


Comments are closed.