Lowndes the class of the field in qualifying

Craig Lowndes will start Race 10 from pole position

Craig Lowndes will start Race 10 from pole position

TeamVodafone’s Craig Lowndes has proven the class of the field in V8 Supercars qualifying at Winton – setting the fastest two times of the 20 minute session.

Steven Johnson (Jim Beam Racing) will share the front-row with the Triple Eight Commodore, having vaulted up the order with a last-gasp effort after the chequered flag fell.

Jame Whincup improved his best time on his last run but could do no better than third, while Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing) and Paul Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing) rounded out the top five.

David Reynolds (Stratco Racing) continued on from his strong practice form with the sixth fastest time – just 0.25s off pole.

Fabian Coulthard (Bundaberg Racing) was the best of the Walkinshaw Commodores in seventh, while Toll Holden Racing Team duo Garth Tander and James Courtney struggled, taking 11th and 19th respectively.

Mark Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel FPR), Will Davison (Trading Post FPR) and Michael Caruso (Fujitsu Racing) rounded out the top 10.

See below for the full result 

TeamVodafone              Craig Lowndes        Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.0979  
Jim Beam Racing           Steven Johnson       Ford Falcon FG       1:22.1566 0:00.0587
TeamVodafone              Jamie Whincup        Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.2168 0:00.1189
Fujitsu Racing GRM        Lee Holdsworth       Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.2590 0:00.1611
The Bottle-O Racing Team  Paul Dumbrell        Ford Falcon FG       1:22.2652 0:00.1673
Stratco Racing            David Reynolds       Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3459 0:00.2480
Bundaberg Racing          Fabian Coulthard     Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.3595 0:00.2616
Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon   Mark Winterbottom    Ford Falcon FG       1:22.4150 0:00.3171
Trading Post FPR Falcon   Will Davison         Ford Falcon FG       1:22.4597 0:00.3618
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM        Michael Caruso       Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.4741 0:00.3762
11 Toll Holden Racing Team   Garth Tander         Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.4801 0:00.3822
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing      Rick Kelly           Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5005 0:00.4026
13 Irwin Racing              Alex Davison         Ford Falcon FG       1:22.5307 0:00.4328
14 Team BOC                  Jason Bright         Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.5508 0:00.4529
15 VIP Petfoods              Steve Owen           Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.6038 0:00.5059
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing      Todd Kelly           Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7002 0:00.6023
17 Lucky 7 Racing            Tim Slade            Ford Falcon FG       1:22.7032 0:00.6053
18 Supercheap Auto Racing    Russell Ingall       Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7119 0:00.6140
19 Toll Holden Racing Team   James Courtney       Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.7495 0:00.6516
20 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb         Ford Falcon FG       1:22.7638 0:00.6659
21 Jim Beam Racing           James Moffat         Ford Falcon FG       1:22.8286 0:00.7307
22 Pepsi Max Crew            Greg Murphy           Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.8317 0:00.7338
23 Jana Living Racing        Jason Bargwanna      Holden Commodore VE2 1:22.8342 0:00.7363
24 SP Tools Racing           Shane Van Gisbergen  Ford Falcon FG       1:22.8627 0:00.7648
25 Triple F Racing           Dean Fiore           Ford Falcon FG       1:23.0066 0:00.9087
26 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing  Karl Reindler         Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.1020 0:01.0041
27 Wilson Security Racing    Tony D’Alberto       Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.1112 0:01.0133
28 Gulf Western Oil Racing   Warren Luff           Holden Commodore VE2 1:23.5547 0:01.4568

This weekend sees a V8 Supercars/Formula One double-header. See below for Speedcafe.com’s Race Guides for insight into all of the weekend’s action.

Comments are closed.