Vettel does it again in Istanbul qualifying

Sebastian Vettel remains undefeated in qualifying this season

Sebastian Vettel remains undefeated in qualifying this season

Sebastian Vettel has taken his fourth pole position of the season in an anti-climactic end to qualifying for the Turkish Grand Prix.

Mark Webber’s best was good enough for the front-row, despite being 0.4s shy of Vettel – with the two Red Bull drivers having completed just one run each in the final Q3 session.

While the team-mates both saved a set of soft tyres by ending the session in the garage, Nico Rosberg put in a late flier to take third from Lewis Hamilton.

Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button and Vitaly Petrov filled fifth through seventh, while Michael Schumacher and Nick Heidfeld were eighth and ninth having completed single runs late in the session.

Felipe Massa, who had used the soft tyres to ensure he made it to Q2, did not turn a lap in the final session and will start 10th.

Q2 had seen Heidfeld claw his way into the top 10 after the chequered flag had fallen – bumping the Williams of Rubens Barrichello from 10th position by just 0.024s.

Earlier in Q1, Jerome D’Ambrosio again outshone Virgin Racing team-mate Timo Glock. The Belgian rookie set the 20th fastest time, but will start last on the grid due to a penalty for not slowing down sufficiently under the yellow flags for Pastor Maldonado’s crash in Practice 2 yesterday.

Hispania continued to show signs of improvement, with Tonio Liuzzi out-qualifying Glock for the first time this season.

There was bad news for Kamui Kobayashi, with the Sauber suffering from fuel pump issues that prevented the Japanese driver from setting a time.

See below for the session result

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:27.039 1:25.610 1:25.049
2 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:27.090 1:26.075 1:25.454
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:27.514 1:25.801 1:25.574
4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:27.091 1:26.066 1:25.595
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:27.349 1:26.152 1:25.851
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:27.374 1:26.485 1:25.982
7 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:27.475 1:26.654 1:26.296
8 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:27.697 1:26.121 1:26.646
9 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1:27.901 1:26.740 1:26.659
10 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:27.013 1:26.395  
11 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:28.246 1:26.764  
12 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:27.392 1:27.027  
13 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:27.625 1:27.145  
14 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1:27.396 1:27.236  
15 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:27.778 1:27.244  
16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:27.620 1:27.255  
17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:28.055 1:27.572  
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1:28.780    
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1:29.673    
20 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1:30.445    
21 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1:30.692    
22 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:30.813    
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1:31.564    
Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari No time    

See below for’s Turkish Grand Prix Race Guide

Comments are closed.