Thompson wins as Morris and Percat clash

Sunday 1st May, 2011 - 6:59pm


Andrew Thompson has scored secured a clean-sweep of wins in the Fujitsu V8 Series at Barbagallo Raceway today.

Driving his Monster Energy Drinks Commodore, Thompson stormed to the win ahead of David Russell.

Russell made his second storming start for the weekend, racing from fourth to second at the green light.

Impressive Kiwi Scott McLaughlin finished third after a spirited battle with Supercheap Auto-backed Jack Perkins.

The most controversial moment of the race came when Nick Percat was turned around by Paul Morris.

Morris was a lap down after suffering a flat tyre. After he pitted to fix the problem, he rejoined the track and found Percat, whom he had a run in with in yesterday’s first Fujitsu V8 race.

Percat, who led the series heading into this round, eventually finished 16th.

At the conclusion of the race, Percat stormed through the field and trailed Morris into pitlane. The pair did not speak, though, as Percat’s Walkinshaw Racing team-mate Garth Tander chaperoned him away to the paddock.

In other incidents, Ash Walsh turned around Rodney Jane at Turn 1, earning a driver-through penalty.

Rounding out the top 10 was Daniel Jilesen (Greg Murphy Racing), Chaz Mostert (Simpro Racing), Taz Douglas (Fastaz), Robert Cregan (Mad Croc), Tim Blanchard (Jayco) and Aeron Russell (Go Karts Go).

Top 10 Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series Standings after Trading Post Challenge

1: Andrew Thompson, 507 pts.
2: Scott McLaughlin, 492 pts.
3: Jack Perkins, 429 pts.
4: David Russell, 414 pts.
5: Daniel Jilesen, 402 pts.
6: Tim Blanchard, 387 pts.
7: Chaz Mostert, 378 pts.
8: Nick Percat, 324 pts.
9: Rodney Jane, 318 pts.
10: Robert Cregan, 312 pts.

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!