Will Power takes fourth-straight pole

Will Power takes pole #4 of 2011 this time in Brazil

Will Power takes pole #4 of 2011 this time in Brazil

Will Power his taken his fourth-consecutive pole award of the season and gave Penske Racing its 200th Indy car pole for the São Paulo Indy 300.

Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, set the track record of 1m21.8958s with three minutes left in the 10-minute Firestone Fast Six shootout on the 2.536-mile, 11-turn street circuit.

Like at Long Beach two weeks earlier, Ryan Hunter-Reay will join Power on the front row. They finished one-two in the IZOD IndyCar Series race in Brazil, with Power starting the 2010 season with the victory.

“What a fantastic job they did repaving the track, and I believe it now sets the standard for street courses,” Power said.

“The second session for us was a little tight – I was P5 with one lap to go – and I put a lap together at the end to advance. In the Fast Six we were very comfortable and gave it everything we had.”

Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe will share Row 2, while Graham Rahal and Dario Franchitti will be on the third row for the 75-lap race.

Pos  Driver               Team              Time        Gap
 1.  Will Power           Penske             1m21.8958s
 2.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti           1m22.2975s  + 0.4017s
 3.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi            1m22.3620s  + 0.4662s
 4.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske             1m22.3937s  + 0.4979s
 5.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi            1m22.4970s  + 0.6012s
 6.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi            1m22.6103s  + 0.7145s
 7.  Helio Castroneves    Penske             1m22.6283s  (Round 2)
 8.  Justin Wilson        Dreyer & Reinbold  1m22.6471s  (Round 2)
 9.  Mike Conway          Andretti           1m22.6986s  (Round 2)
10.  Takuma Sato          KV                 1m22.7379s  (Round 2)
11.  James Hinchcliffe    Newman/Haas        1m22.8450s  (Round 2)
12.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dale Coyne         1m22.9084s  (Round 2)
13.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM                1m23.6807s  (Group 1)
14.  Vitor Meira          Foyt               1m23.3196s  (Group 2)
15.  Tony Kanaan          KV                 1m23.6838s  (Group 1)
16.  Oriol Servia         Newman/Haas        1m23.4015s  (Group 2)
17.  Marco Andretti       Andretti           1m23.7682s  (Group 1)
18.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi            1m23.7126s  (Group 2)
19.  Danica Patrick       Andretti           1m24.0967s  (Group 1)
20.  Alex Tagliani        Sam Schmidt        1m23.7801s  (Group 2)
21.  Raphael Matos        AFS                1m24.1890s  (Group 1)
22.  JR Hildebrand        Panther            1m23.8443s  (Group 2)
23.  Sebastian Saavedra   Conquest           1m24.2963s  (Group 1)
24.  James Jakes          Dale Coyne         1m23.8482s  (Group 2)
25.  Ana Beatriz          Dreyer & Reinbold  1m24.8246s  (Group 1)
26.  EJ Viso              KV                             (Group 2)

Comments are closed.