Jamie Whincup scores double Perth pole

Sunday 1st May, 2011 - 11:41am


Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has taken both pole positions for today’s two 120km races at Barbagallo Raceway in Perth.

In a V8 Supercars first, this morning’s 20 minute qualifying session determined the grid positions for two races.

Whincup’s double pole for Races 8 and 9 of the V8 Supercars Championship puts him equal fourth overall with Dick Johnson on the all-time pole list.

The TeamVodafone championship leader will start ahead of Jason Bright (Team BOC) in both races, while Craig Lowndes will line-up third in both events.

Beyond Lowndes, the positions start to get jumbled. IRWIN Racing’s Alex Davison is fourth for Race 8, but seventh for Race 9.

The biggest variance between a driver’s starting spot in the two races in James Moffat. The Dick Johnson Racing driver will line-up 12th and 21st in the two races – a gap of nine place.

For a full list of positions, see’s list below.

Jamie Whincup 1  1
Jason Bright 2  2
Craig Lowndes 3  3
Alex Davison 4  7
Garth Tander 5  4
Steve Johnson 6  6
Jason Bargwanna 7  13
Will Davison 8  14
James Courtney 9  5
Lee Holdsworth 10  12
Mark Winterbottom 11  8
James Moffat 12  21
Karl Reindler 13  9
Rick Kelly 14  10
Tony D’Alberto 15  16
Fabian Coulthard 16  17
Tim Slade 17  19
Greg Murphy 18  11
Michael Caruso 19  22
Van Gisbergen 20  15
Paul Dumbrell 21  18
Jonathon Webb 22  20
Dean Fiore 23  27
Russell Ingall 24  24
Steve Owen 25  25
David Reynolds 26  23
Todd Kelly 27  26
Warren Luff 28  28

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!