Whincup takes pole as Reindler surprises

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has taken pole position for Race 7 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Barbagallo Raceway.

The TeamVodafone driver edged out Will Davison (Trading Post Racing), who will join the Championship leader on the front-row.

Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone), Steve Johnson (Jim Beam Racing) and Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) round out the top five, while the standout of the 20 minute session was Karl Reindler. The home-town driver Karl Reinder stunned the V8 fraternity by taking sixth place, having held onto second until the dying stages of the session.

Reinder’s best qualifying performance this year was 22nd position in Abu Dhabi, while his previous career-best qualifying was at Homebush last year where he took 19th place.

While it was glory for one West Australian, the other two struggled. Garth Tander (Toll Holden Racing Team) and Dean Fiore (Triple F Racing) will start a lowly 23rd and 24th respectively.

Tander’s Toll team-mate James Courtney and Alex Davison (IRWIN Racing) will line-up seventh and eighth, while another noteworthy performance came from Jim Beam Racing’s James Moffat who took his season-best qualifying performance with ninth.

Team BOC’s Jason Bright rounds out the top 10.

Race 7 of the V8 Supercars Championship will be held at 2.05pm this afternoon.

Race 7 qualifying result

1 88 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.0734*
2 6 Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:56.2865
3 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.6132
4 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 0:56.6990
5 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.7047
6 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.7185
7 1 James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.7224
8 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:56.7279
9 18 James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 0:56.7406
10 8 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.7691
11 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.8444
12 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:56.8523
13 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.8583
14 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 0:56.8831
15 16 David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.8844
16 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 0:56.9073
17 49 Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.9707
18 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 0:56.9774
19 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 0:56.9848
20 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 0:56.9979
21 14 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.0046
22 11 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.0363
23 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.0530
24 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 0:57.1402
25 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.1574
26 30 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.1867
27 61 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.2114
28 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.5109

Comments are closed.