Power on pole again in Long Beach

Three poles in a row for Will Power

Three poles in a row for Will Power

Will Power remains unbeatable in qualifying in the 2011 Izod IndyCar Series – scoring his third consecutive pole position ahead of tomorrow’s Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

Andretti Autosports’ Ryan Hunter Reay traded fastest times with the Australian in the final session, but fell 0.08s short when the chequered flag fell.

Power has finished second and third at Long Beach over the last two seasons, and is predicting a challenging race.

“That was definitely a tough one,” said Power, of qualifying.

“I think Ryan had me there right till the end. I know how fast Hunter Reay is around here from the race last year. He’s bloody hard to beat.

“You know, it’s going to be a tough race, but qualifying the way we did I think we put ourselves in the best possible position.”

See below for the full result

1 Will Power Penske 102.582mph
2 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti 102.469mph
3 Mike Conway Andretti 101.733mph
4 Oriol Servia Newman/Haas 101.672mph
5 Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold 101.487mph
6 Helio Castroneves Penske 101.440mph
7 Dario Franchitti Ganassi 101.788mph
8 Scott Dixon Ganassi 101.737mph
9 Alex Tagliani Sam Schmidt 101.720mph
10 Tony Kanaan KV 101.596mph
11 James Hinchcliffe Newman/Haas 101.484mph
12 Ryan Briscoe Penske 101.466mph
13 Vitor Meira AJ Foyt 101.066mph
14 Marco Andretti Andretti 101.298mph
15 Sebastian Saavedra Conquest 101.046mph
16 Graham Rahal Ganassi 100.368mph
17 EJ Viso KV 101.000mph
18 Simona De Silvestro HVM 100.293mph
19 Raphael Matos AFS 100.711mph
20 Danica Patrick Andretti 100.091mph
21 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne 100.061mph
22 Takuma Sato KV 100.040mph
23 James Jakes Dale Coyne 99.984mph
24 Charlie Kimball Ganassi 99.973mph
25 Paul Tracy Dragon 99.751mph
26 Ana Beatriz Dreyer & Reinbold 99.738mph
27 JR Hildebrand Panther 99.100mph

Comments are closed.