Sebastian Vettel snatches pole in Malaysia

Sebastian Vettel took his second pole of the season

Sebastian Vettel took his second pole of the season

Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull Racing have snatched pole position away from a resurgent McLaren in Sepang.

The German was the last of the front-runners to complete his lap in Q3, and undercut Lewis Hamilton’s best effort by 0.1s.

Mark Webber will start third having failed to go quicker on his second Q3 run, while Jenson Button ended the session fourth.

Fernando Alonso, Nick Heidfeld, Felipe Massa, Vitaly Petrov, Nico Rosberg and Kamui Kobayashi filled the remainder of the top 10 – with all six drivers have completed just one run in Q3.

For the second consecutive race, Michael Schumacher narrowly missed out on making Q3, and will start 11th.

The Q2 session had seen Button and Hamilton signal themselves as genuine threats for pole position, beating the Red Bulls into the top two spots.

Earlier, Webber had been just two spots away failing to get out of Q1 in 15th place, thanks to Red Bull being the only team not to run a set of soft tyres.

The opening Q1 session had seen Williams rookie Pastor Maldonado eliminated, along with the usual suspects from Team Lotus, Virgin Racing and HRT.

The Spanish owned squad had cause for celebration however, after making it within the 107% qualification cut-off.

See below for the Qualifying result

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m34.870s
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m34.974s 0.104
3 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m35.179s 0.309
4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m35.200s 0.330
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m35.802s 0.932
6 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1m36.124s 1.254
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m36.251s 1.381
8 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m36.324s 1.454
9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m36.809s 1.939
10 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m36.820s 1.950
11 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m37.035s 1.466
12 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m37.160s 1.591
13 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m37.347s 1.778
14 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m37.370s 1.801
15 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m37.496s 1.927
16 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m37.528s 1.959
17 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m37.593s 2.024
18 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1m38.276s 1.532
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1m38.645s 1.901
20 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1m38.791s 2.047
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m40.648s 3.904
22 Jerome D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m41.001s 4.257
23 Tonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1m41.549s 4.805
24 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m42.574s 5.830


See below for’s Malaysian Grand Prix Race Guide

Comments are closed.