Old faces return to Touring Car Masters grid

The Touring Car Masters class last raced at Barbagallo Raceway in 2008

The Touring Car Masters class last raced at Barbagallo Raceway in 2008

The Touring Car Masters class will head back to Barbagallo Raceway with a bunch of new cars and returning drivers to its ranks.

Returning to the series for their first 2011 races will be Chris Stillwell, Bill Pye, Garry Treloar, Ross Almond and Trevor Talbot, with Bernie Stack swapping his usual Porsche for Bob Middleton’s 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS.

Tony Karanfilovski has made an upgrade from his Class A Alfa Romeo, entering a 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO.

And Terry Lawlor is set to begin his Touring Car Masters racing career in a 1973 Porsche 911 RS, taking the number of Porsches to five.

“We were very disappointed not to make the opening round at Clipsal due to engine failure, but we’re now finishing the rebuild and going to be a definite starter at Barbagallo,” Lawlor said.

“From what I hear, it’s an interesting circuit for the driver. I haven’t driven there myself yet, but I’m certainly looking forward to it.”

After a failed attempt to debut his much-anticipated Holden Torana SLR 5000 at the Clipsal street track,Tony Edwards is now aiming to complete the first races of the year.

While some aim to start, there are two who won’t. As reported previously, two-time Australian Touring Car Champion Glenn Seton won’t be at the circuit in his new Ford XB Coupe entry. Seton will make his debut in the car at the third round at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Also on the sidelines is Cameron Tilley, who had expected to make the move from his Valiant Pacer to the ex-Abelnica 1969 Ford Boss Mustang. Engine part delays will see this vehicle out later in the season.

The Touring Car Masters, presented by Autobarn will support the fourth event of the V8 Supercars Championship at Barbagallo Raceway.

See below for full Touring Car Masters entry list …

Car # Sponsor Name Driver Name Year Make Model
1 Shannons Insurance Jim Richards 1964 Ford Falcon Sprint
3 Fujitsu Steve Mason 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
6 Stillwell Motorsport Chris Stillwell 1968 Ford Mustang Trans Am
8 Panels & Performance Gary O’Brien 1972 Holden HQ GTS
9 Bulletproof Products Tony Edwards 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
11 Kings Springs Mark King 1973 Ford Falcon XA GT
13 The Wine Underground Rory O’Neill 1973 Porsche 911 RS
14 Top Shelf Motor Company Alastair MacLean 1968 Chevrolet Camaro SS
15 Firsthire Bill Pye 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
16 Rain City Racing Gavin Bullas 1969 Ford Boss Mustang
18 WesTrac Cat – Wilson Security John Bowe 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am
21 Treloar Roses Garry Treloar 1972 Chrysler Charger E55
26 Toshiba / Copyworld Ross Almond 1973 Porsche 911 RS
28 Tilleys Automotive Brad Tilley 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT
33 SportsMed Amanda Sparks 1973 Porsche 911 RS
43 Treloar Roses/Mick Wilson Plumbing Mick Wilson 1972 Chrysler Charger RT
48 Perth Cheapest Cars.com.au Eddie Abelnica 1974 Ford Falcon XB Coupe
52 wheels.com.pg Keith Kassulke 1971 Holden HQ Monaro
57 Corio Auto Parts Graham Alexander 1968 Holden HT Monaro
60 Tilleys Racing Equipment Cameron Tilley 1970 Valiant Pacer
62 Falcon Fire Protection Doug Westwood 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
68 Tilleys Automotive Andrew Whiteside 1968 Ford Mustang Trans Am
73 Exclusive Body Werks Terry Lawlor 1973 Porsche 911 RS
74 Lyndways Builders Wayne Mercer 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
76 Dukes Body Works Trevor Talbot 1972 Holden Torana XU1
83 Ocean Foods George Nittis 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
85 Whiteline Transport Racing Bernie Stack 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS
88 TIFS – Wharehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
91 Nelson Architects John Nelson 1973 Porsche 911 RS
95 WesTrac Cat Andrew Miedecke 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS

Comments are closed.