Australian Grand Prix result finalised

Force India benefited greatly from Sauber's mistake

Force India benefited greatly from Sauber's mistake

The results of the 2011 Australian Formula One Grand Prix have been finalised after the Sauber team chose against appealing its exclusion from the race.

The Swiss squad lodged a statement of intent to appeal on Sunday night, after irregularities with the upper rear wing element of its cars saw team drivers Sergio Perez and Kamui Kobayashi thrown out of the results.

Team technical director James Key has vowed that the discrepancy, which cost the team a total of 10 constructors championship points, will not happen again.

“It did not bring us any performance advantage, but the fact is that it was a deviation from the regulations,” said Key.

“We take note of the stewards’ decision.

“We have since found that there was an error in the checking process for the relevant dimension on this component.

“We have already put measures in place to ensure that nothing of this kind occurs again in the future.”

The disqualification of the Saubers elevated Force India drivers Paul di Resta and Adrian Sutil into the points.

Di Resta, the reigning DTM champion, said he was delighted to score points in his first Grand Prix.

“It’s fantastic now to be confirmed as a world championship points-scorer on my Formula One debut,” said di Resta.

“I was satisfied to originally finish 12th in my first race, but to be told on Sunday I’d been promoted to 10th was great.

“Obviously then there were doubts, and I wasn’t able to really celebrate because Sauber said they were going to appeal the stewards’ decision.

“But today’s announcement that they have decided not to appeal means I’m now officially in the record books as an F1 points scorer.

“Now I have to focus on building on this platform for the rest of the year.”

See below for the amended results

Pos Driver Team Laps Time/Retired
1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 58 Winner
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 58 +22.2 secs
3 Vitaly Petrov Renault 58 +30.5 secs
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 58 +31.7 secs
5 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 58 +38.1 secs
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 58 +54.3 secs
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 58 +85.1 secs
8 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 57 +1 Lap
9 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 57 +1 Lap
10 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 57 +1 Lap
11 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 57 +1 Lap
12 Nick Heidfeld Renault 57 +1 Lap
13 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 56 +2 Laps
14 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 54 +4 Laps
Ret Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 49 +9 Laps
Ret Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 48 +10 Lap
Ret Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 22 +36 Laps
Ret Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 19 +39 Laps
Ret Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 19 +39 Laps
Ret Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 9 +49 Laps
DSQ Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 58 +65.8 secs
DSQ Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 58 +76.8 secs

Comments are closed.