Kevin Harvick snatches Auto Club 400

Kevin Harvick celebrates at Fontana

Kevin Harvick celebrates at Fontana

Kevin Harvick made a spectacular last-lap pass on Jimmie Johnson to take his first win of the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup season at Fontana.

Harvick had been placed just fifth prior to the last full-course caution with nine laps to go – brought out by Bobby Labonte wrecking at Turn 4.

The leading six contenders all remained on the race track during the final caution, while Matt Kenseth led a train of cars down pit-road to take two tyres.

The Roush Fenway Ford driver then charged home to take fourth behind Harvick, Johnson and Kyle Busch.

Ryan Newman, Clint Bowyer, Brian Vickers, Kasey Kahne and pole-sitter Juan Pablo Montoya rounded out the top 10.

Fontana’s wide and largely flat layout produced just four cautions across the 200 lap race, with debris (Lap 75) and single-car incidents from David Gilliland (Lap 103), Andy Lally (Lap 172) and Bobby Labonte (Lap 186) the only culprits.

Championship contender Denny Hamlin had a tough day, with electrical issues seeing the Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota classified 39th.

Australian Marcos Ambrose finished 28th, two laps down, in his Richard Petty Motorsport Ford.

See below for the full race result

1 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Jimmy John’s Gourmet Sandwiches 200
2 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s 200
3 Kyle Busch Toyota Interstate Batteries 200
4 Matt Kenseth Ford Crown Royal 200
5 Ryan Newman Chevrolet U.S. Army 200
6 Carl Edwards Ford Aflac 200
7 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet Reagan Presidential Foundation 200
8 Brian Vickers Toyota Red Bull 200
9 Kasey Kahne Toyota Red Bull 200
10 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target 200
11 Greg Biffle Ford 3M 200
12 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet Amp Energy / National Guard 200
13 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 200
14 A.J. Allmendinger Ford Best Buy 200
15 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Caterpillar 200
16 Paul Menard Chevrolet Serta / Menards 200
17 Kurt Busch Dodge Auto Club 200
18 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet Drive to End Hunger 200
19 David Reutimann Toyota Aaron’s / HP Partner of the Year 200
20 Mark Martin Chevrolet 200
21 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota NAPA Auto Parts 200
22 David Ragan Ford UPS “We Love Logistics” 200
23 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker 200
24 Landon Cassill Chevrolet Thank A Teacher Today / Security Benefit 200
25 Joey Logano Toyota The Home Depot 200
26 Brad Keselowski Dodge Miller Lite 200
27 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row Companies 200
28 Marcos Ambrose Ford Dewalt 198
29 Casey Mears Toyota GEICO 198
30 Trevor Bayne Ford Motorcraft / Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center 198
31 David Gilliland Ford Taco Bell 198
32 Andy Lally * Chevrolet Super Eco-Fuel Saver 198
33 Ken Schrader Ford VA Mortgage Center 197
34 Robby Gordon Dodge Speed Energy / Food 4 Less 197
35 Travis Kvapil Ford Long John Silver’s 196
36 Tony Raines Ford Race Fuel Energy Drink 190
37 Dave Blaney Chevrolet Accell Construction 188
38 Bobby Labonte Toyota Little Debbie 182
39 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Office 105
40 Todd Bodine Toyota Big Red 50
41 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet Red Line Oil 47
42 Joe Nemechek Toyota NEMCO Motorsports 39
43 Michael McDowell Toyota HP Racing LLC 32

Comments are closed.