Will Power takes St Petersburg pole

Will Power collected the pole at St Petersburg

Will Power collected the pole at St Petersburg

Will Power has opened his 2011 IZOD IndyCar season in style, scoring pole for the opening race of the season at the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Power, driving the #12 Verizon Team Penske car, posted a time of 1m 01.9624s to score his 11th IZOD IndyCar Series pole. He set a series record last season with eight.

The Australian was pleased to get his season off to a solid start.

It’s very good for the guys,” Power said.

“The Verizon Team Penske guys are starting with the pole again and you know where the race it going to be tomorrow. It’s going to be double-file restarts and a lot of mayhem.”

Four teams are represented on the first three rows for the 100-lap race on the 1.8-mile, 14-turn circuit.

Reigning series champion Dario Franchitti, who hasn’t won at St Pete in the seven years of the event, will start second in the #10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car (1:02.2953), while team-mate Scott Dixon took third place ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Mike Conway in the #27 Team GoDaddy car.

Ryan Briscoe, who won the race in 2009, and Justin Wilson will start the race on the third row of the grid.

In Firestone Indy Lights, Esteban Guerrieri became the eighth driver to earn the Sunoco Pole Award in their debut race.

Pos Car Driver Car Name Entrant Time Speed
1 12 Will Power Verizon Team Penske Team Penske 1:01.9625 104.579
2 10 Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing Target Chip Ganassi Racing 1:02.2953 104.021
3 9 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing Target Chip Ganassi Racing 1:02.3975 103.850
4 27 Mike Conway Team GoDaddy.com Andretti Autosport 1:02.5306 103.629
5 6 Ryan Briscoe IZOD Team Penske Team Penske 1:02.5744 103.557
6 22 Justin Wilson TransSystems/DRR Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1:02.7729 103.229
7 26 Marco Andretti Team Venom Energy Andretti Autosport 1:02.6312 103.463
8 82 Tony Kanaan GEICO-KV Racing Technology-Lotus KV Racing Technology – Lotus 1:02.7818 103.215
9 3 Helio Castroneves guidepoint systems Team Penske Team Penske 1:02.8204 103.151
10 77 Alex Tagliani Bowers & Wilkins/Sam Schmidt Mtrsports Sam Schmidt Motorsports 1:02.8225 103.148
11 5 Takuma Sato KV Racing Technology – Lotus KV Racing Technology – Lotus 1:02.9312 102.970
12 38 Graham Rahal Service Central Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing 1:03.0640 102.753
13 14 Vitor Meira ABC Supply Co./A.J. Foyt Racing A.J. Foyt Racng 1:03.1315 102.643
14 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Andretti Autosport 1:03.1778 102.568
15 02 Oriol Servia Telemundo/Newman Haas Racing Newman/Haas Racing 1:03.2434 102.461
16 17 Raphael Matos Automatic Fire Sprinklers, Inc. AFS Racing 1:03.2594 102.435
17 78 Simona De Silvestro Nuclear Clean Air Energy/HVM Racing Nuclear Clean Air Energy/HVM Racing 1:03.2724 102.414
18 19 Sebastien Bourdais Boy Scouts of America Dale Coyne Racing 1:03.3188 102.339
19 7 Danica Patrick Team GoDaddy Andretti Autosport 1:03.3764 102.246
20 24 Ana Beatriz (R) Ipiranga/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1:03.8036 101.562
21 59 E.J. Viso PDVSA-KV Racing Technology-Lotus KV Racing Technology – Lotus 1:03.4065 102.198
22 18 James Jakes (R) Acorn Stairlifts Dale Coyne Racing 1:03.8854 101.432
23 83 Charlie Kimball (R) Levemir and NovoLog Flex Pen Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing 1:03.5162 102.021
24 34 Sebastian Saavedra (R) Conquest Racing Conquest Racing 1:03.9696 101.298
25 4 JR Hildebrand (R) National Guard Panther Racing Panther Racing 1:03.8256 101.527

Comments are closed.