Tander snatches victory from Jason Richards

Garth Tander has won Race 2 at Albert Park

Garth Tander has won Race 2 at Albert Park

Garth Tander has beaten home Jason Richards to win Race 2 of the Albert Park 400.

The two Holden drivers started the 25 lap race on alternate strategies, resulting in Tander sprinting home on the softer rubber to win by 6.4s.

Richards battled with a soft-shod Alex Davison for the lead in the opening laps, before pitting on Lap 14 – jumping the IRWIN Ford which pitted a lap earlier.

Tander had switched to the softs on Lap 10, and soon hunted down Richards and Davison to take the lead by Lap 17.

Davison hung on for third, while Jamie Whincup overcame Rick Kelly to take fourth by 0.02s.

Whincup charged his way into contention in the closing stages, having received a 10s addition to his pitstop courtesy of jumping the start.

The two-time champion had dropped from first to fourth on the run to Turn 1 due to his messy start, and spectacularly brushed the outside wall at Turn 11 on consecutive laps in the closing stages.

Craig Lowndes was sixth in the second TeamVodafone Commodore, ahead of Tim Slade, Fabian Coulthard, Jason Bright and Shane van Gisbergen.

Van Gisbergen started from 12th after his Race 1 penalty, and dropped to the rear of the field after being involved in a Lap 1 incident between James Courtney and Steven Johnson, before clawing his way back into the top 10.

Also in trouble on Lap 1 was Warren Luff – the Gulf Western Commodore rotating at Turn 6 after a tap from Slade.

Mark Winterbottom finished down in 22nd after dropping out of contention with a wheel nut issue in his pitstop.


See below for the Race 2 result

1 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 25
2 Team BOC Jason Richards Holden Commodore VE2 25
3 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 25
4 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 25
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 25
6 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 25
7 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 25
8 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 25
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 25
10 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 25
11 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 25
12 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 25
13 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 25
14 Mother Energy Racing Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 25
15 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 25
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 25
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 25
18 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 25
19 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 25
20 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 25
21 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 25
22 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 25
23 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 25
24 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 25
25 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 25
DNF VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 24
DNF Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 4
DNF Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG

Comments are closed.