Montoya on pole for Auto Club 500

Juan Pablo Montoya will start the Auto Club 400 from pole

Juan Pablo Montoya will start the Auto Club 400 from pole

Juan Pablo Montoya will attempt to take his first oval track victory in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Fontana after scoring pole position.

The Earnhardt Ganassi driver ran a 184.7mph lap around the two-mile (three kilometre) speedway to beat Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin to the pole.

Joey Logano, Regan Smith and Tony Stewart round out the top five.

Marcos Ambrose will start 13th in his Richard Petty Motorsport Ford, and believed he could have gone better if not for the ever-improving track conditions.

“We went back to what we did at Vegas a little bit,” said Ambrose.

“We gained a little because of that but I didn’t think it would be good enough.

“We were out early and the track was cooling off so we knew there would be some fast times out there.

“I am proud of my team, very proud of these guys for believing in me.”

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target 184.653
2 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Office 184.270
3 Joey Logano Toyota The Home Depot 184.134
4 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row Companies 184.030
5 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 183.988
6 David Ragan Ford UPS “We Love Logistics” 183.692
7 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Caterpillar 183.622
8 Kyle Busch Toyota Interstate Batteries 183.482
9 Ryan Newman Chevrolet U.S. Army 183.463
10 Mark Martin Chevrolet 183.449
11 Matt Kenseth Ford Crown Royal 183.407
12 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker 183.243
13 Marcos Ambrose Ford Dewalt 183.127
14 David Reutimann Toyota Aaron’s / HP Partner of the Year 183.113
15 Paul Menard Chevrolet Serta / Menards 182.950
16 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s 182.932
17 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet Cheerios / Hamburger Helper 182.899
18 Carl Edwards Ford Aflac 182.797
19 Brian Vickers Toyota Red Bull 182.658
20 A.J. Allmendinger Ford Best Buy 182.519
21 Brad Keselowski Dodge Miller Lite 182.510
22 Kasey Kahne Toyota Red Bull 182.366
23 Kurt Busch Dodge Auto Club 182.039
24 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Jimmy John’s Gourmet 181.910
25 Casey Mears Toyota GEICO 181.855
26 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota NAPA Auto Parts 181.809
27 Trevor Bayne Ford Motorcraft 181.804
28 Landon Cassill Chevrolet Security Benefit 181.694
29 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet Drive to End Hunger 181.671
30 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet Amp Energy / National Guard 181.534
31 Dave Blaney Chevrolet Tommy Baldwin Racing 180.936
32 Greg Biffle Ford 3M 180.786
33 Michael McDowell Toyota HP Racing LLC 180.605
34 Bobby Labonte Toyota Little Debbie 180.338
35 Robby Gordon Dodge Speed Energy 180.279
36 Travis Kvapil Ford Long John Silver’s 180.014
37 David Gilliland Ford Taco Bell 179.699
38 Andy Lally* Chevrolet Super Eco-Fuel Saver 178.958
39 Ken Schrader Ford VA Mortgage Center 177.940
40 Joe Nemechek Toyota NEMCO Motorsports 177.659
41 Todd Bodine Toyota Big Red 176.557
42 Tony Raines Ford Front Row Motorsports 175.653
43 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet Red Line Oil

Comments are closed.