Mark Webber fastest in Practice 1

Mark Webber topped Practice 1 in Melbourne

Mark Webber topped Practice 1 in Melbourne

Red Bull Racing has dominated the first practice session of the 2011 Formula One season.

Australian hero Mark Webber ended Practice 1 on top – setting a best of 1:26.8s after the chequered flag fell.

The lap edged team-mate Sebastian Vettel from the top spot by 0.3s, while Fernando Alonso, Nico Rosberg and Rubens Barrichello rounded out the top five.

Webber’s time was almost a second faster than Alonso’s best, with the Red Bull proving superior to the Ferrari in the final sector alone by 0.6s.

McLaren duo Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton were sixth and seventh respectively – with Button completing a session-high 29 laps.

Michael Schumacher, Kamui Kobayashi and Vitaly Petrov rounded out the top 10.

Australian World Series by Renault driver Daniel Ricciardo completed 23 laps in the Toro Rosso, ending the session 16th fastest.

The 90 minute session began with a bang, as Team Lotus test driver Karun Chandhok crashed into the Turn 3 exit wall on his out-lap.

HRT’s new F111 has yet to turn a lap, with neither Narain Karthikeyan nor Tonio Liuzzi venturing onto the circuit during the session.

Timo Glock lost time during the session with a gearbox issue. Both Virgin Racing entries were outside the 107% qualifying cut-off by the end of  the session.

See below for the full practice result

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:26.831
2 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:27.158 0.327
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:27.749 0.918
4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1:28.152 1.321
5 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:28.430 1.599
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:28.440 1.609
7 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:28.483 1.652
8 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1:28.690 1.859
9 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:28.725 1.894
10 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:28.765 1.934
11 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:28.842 2.011
12 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1:28.928 2.097
13 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:29.314 2.483
14 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:29.328 2.497
15 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1:29.403 2.572
16 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 1:29.468 2.637
17 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:29.643 2.812
18 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:31.002 4.171
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1:32.428 5.597
20 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1:35.282 8.451
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:35.289 8.458
22 Karun Chandhok Lotus-Renault
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth
24 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth

For a comprehensive preview of the opening round of the 2011 FIA Formula One World Championship, CLICK HERE for’s Race Guide.

Comments are closed.