Jamie Whincup dominates Albert Park Race 1

Whincup blitzed the field in Race 1

Whincup blitzed the field in Race 1

Jamie Whincup has taken a dominant victory in Race 1 of the Albert Park 400 this evening.

The TeamVodafone driver started the race on soft tyres, and held a 13.7s lead over closest pursuer Alex Davison by the time the pit window opened on Lap 10.

Whincup pitted for the hard tyres and fuel on Lap 14, and emerged with a comfortable lead over Garth Tander, despite a major lock-up and minor off at Turn 1 on his out-lap.

Whincup  eventually greeted the chequered flag eight seconds in front of Tander after 25 laps – marking the two-time V8 Supercars Champion’s first race victory at Albert Park.

Shane van Gisbergen took third, while a hard-tyre shod Alex Davison held off Rick Kelly in the closing laps, in a battle that yielded Davison a bad sportsmanship flag for blocking.

Tander and van Gisbergen both ran the alternate tyre strategy to Whincup – starting on hards and finishing on softs.

Lee Holdsworth, Jason Richards, Mark Winterbottom, Jono Webb and Jason Bright rounded out the top 10.

Pole sitter Craig Lowndes was an early race casualty, suffering damage to his left-front corner after a collision with Shane van Gisbergen on Lap 3.

Lowndes joined James Moffat in the garage, after the Jim Beam Ford made heavy contact with the rear of Todd Kelly’s Jack Daniel’s entry at Turn 5.

Tim Slade battled with team-mate Davison for second before the pitstops, but finished just 23rd after a lengthy delay attaching his incoming right-front wheel.

James Courtney finished 16th, after falling out of the top 10 with an off at Turn 3 in the closing laps.

See below for the Race 1 result

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 50:32.3444
2 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 50:40.3387
3 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 50:47.5889
4 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 51:02.6466
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 51:02.9161
6 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 51:06.1917
7 Team BOC Jason Richards Holden Commodore VE2 51:06.9087
8 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 51:08.6468
9 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 51:11.7718
10 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 51:14.7179
11 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 51:15.2807
12 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 51:18.7357
13 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 51:28.4127
14 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 51:30.3666
15 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 51:33.4302
16 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 51:34.7069
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 51:34.8139
18 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 51:35.4041
19 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 51:35.4173
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 51:36.3625
21 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 51:43.4164
22 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 51:46.8568
23 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 51:48.1077
24 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 52:01.3176
25 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 50:53.1856
26 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 52:14.2176
27 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 52:17.7652
DNF Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 2:15.1875

Comments are closed.