Kyle Busch unstoppable at Britsol

Kyle Busch won again at Bristol

Kyle Busch won again at Bristol

Joe Gibbs Racing’s Kyle Busch has taken a Bristol clean-sweep for the second consecutive time – winning both the Nationwide Series and Sprint Cup Series races at the Tennessee venue.

Busch recorded his 20th Sprint Cup Series race victory after coming out on top in a battle with Carl Edwards and Jimmie Johnson over the final 50 laps.

Busch now has five victories in a row at Bristol, having won in all three divisions there last season.

“It was a lot harder today – Carl kept me honest there,” said Busch of his victory.

“I was making a couple of mistakes, but nothing we couldn’t rebound from.

“You’ve got to be patient sometimes, and sometimes you’ve got to go for it and put it through the middle.

“There were a couple of lapped cars that kind of held me up a little bit, and I just gave way because it was too early to push the issue.

“Our guys won the race on the last pitstop, getting me out in front of Carl (Edwards). I don’t know if I would have been able to get around Carl.”

Edwards and Johnson crossed the finish line second and third, while a seventh place finish for Kurt Busch was enough to propel the Penske Dodge driver to the points lead.

The first caution of the day flew after just 28 laps, thanks to a multi-car wreck triggered by Jeff Burton slowing on the front-stretch. Brad Keselowski, David Reutimann, Denny Hamlin, Jamie McMurray, and A.J. Allmendinger all suffered damage in the incident.

McMurray was involved in a second multi-car crash on lap 436 – this time caused by a slowing Kasey Kahne. The incident saw Kevin Harvick turned wildly into the infield by Mark Martin, while Trevor Bayne, Jamie McMurray, Clint Bowyer and Juan Montoya found themselves with damage while trying to avoid the incident.

Harvick emerged from his spin remarkably unscathed, and went on to finish sixth behind Matt Kenseth and team-mate Paul Menard.

Australian Marcos Ambrose took a hard fought 15th place finish after suffering damage late in the race.

“We fought hard to stay on the lead lap and got some damage late, which hurt the handling of the car, but I’ll take it,” said Ambrose.

“I’m disappointed with 15th, but when you have a difficult day like that, you’ve just got to walk away saying I’ve got a straight car and decent points.”

See below for the full result

1 Kyle Busch Toyota M&M’s 500
2 Carl Edwards Ford Scotts EZ Seed 500
3 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s / Kobalt Tools 500
4 Matt Kenseth Ford Crown Royal Black 500
5 Paul Menard Chevrolet CertainTeed / Menards 500
6 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Budweiser 500
7 Kurt Busch Dodge Shell / Pennzoil 500
8 Greg Biffle Ford 3M 500
9 Kasey Kahne Toyota Red Bull 500
10 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Tornados 500
11 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet National Guard / Amp Energy 500
12 Mark Martin Chevrolet 500
13 Bobby Labonte Toyota Bush’s Baked Beans 500
14 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet Pepsi Max 500
15 Marcos Ambrose Ford Dewalt 500
16 David Ragan Ford UPS “We Love Logistics” 500
17 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota NAPA Auto Parts 500
18 Brad Keselowski Dodge Miller Lite 500
19 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 500
20 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Caterpillar 498
21 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker 498
22 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row Companies 498
23 Joey Logano Toyota The Home Depot 497
24 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target 497
25 Dave Blaney Chevrolet Accell Construction 497
26 Travis Kvapil Ford Long John Silver’s 496
27 David Gilliland Ford TMone / Taco Bell 495
28 Tony Raines Ford Front Row Motorsports 494
29 Bill Elliott Chevrolet Security Benfit/ Rydex 493
30 David Reutimann Toyota Aaron’s Dream Machine 493
31 A.J. Allmendinger Ford Best Buy 493
32 Andy Lally * Chevrolet Super Eco-Fuel Saver 491
33 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Express 488
34 Trevor Bayne Ford Motorcraft / Quick Lane Tire & Auto 482
35 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet BB&T 456
36 Brian Vickers Toyota Red Bull 441
37 Casey Mears Toyota GEICO 427
38 Dennis Setzer Dodge K-Automotive Motorsports 336
39 Robby Gordon Dodge Speed Energy / Food City 127
40 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet Red Line Oil 97
41 Joe Nemechek Toyota NEMCO Motorsports 72
42 Landon Cassill Toyota Big Red 36
43 Michael McDowell Toyota HP Racing LLC 35

Comments are closed.