Jeff Gordon breaks 66-race winless streak

Jeff Gordon in Victory Lane

Jeff Gordon in Victory Lane

Jeff Gordon has broken his 66-race losing streaking by winning the Subway 500 at Phoenix.

Gordon passed Kyle Busch with eight laps remaining to take the win – his first since 2009 at Texas.

The race was just the second event for Gordon with new crew chief Alan Gulstofson.

Busch finished second from reigning champion Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick.

Harvick, who suffered an early engine failure last week in the Daytona 500, had a big scare at Phoenix, when he was involved in a multi-car crash in the tri-oval on Lap 60.

The #29 Chevrolet spun but was undamaged in the incident, which was triggered by contact between Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards. The shunt also saw Jeff Burton and eventual winner Gordon with damage.

The Lap 67 restart saw an even bigger accident unfold, with Brian Vickers spinning in-front of the pack after cutting a tyre.

The mayhem saw Jamie McMurray, Burton, Clint Bowyer, Robby Gordon, Andy Lally, David Reutimann and Travis Kvapil to the garage.

Ryan Newman and Kasey Kahne escaped the carnage to finish fifth and sixth respectively, while Tony Stewart took seventh after falling from second in the final laps due to taking just two tyres at his final pitstop.

Kurt Busch, A.J. Allmendinger and Dale Earnhardt Jr rounded out the top 10.

Australian Marcos Ambrose finished 16th, one lap down from the leaders.

Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne had a disastrous weekend, crashing in Sprint Cup practice, Saturday’s Nationwide Series race and Sunday’s Subway 500.

David Regan failed to bounce back from his Daytona disappointment, crashing heavily on the exit of Turn 4 when a tyre went down.

Kyle Busch now leads the championship standings by three points from his brother Kurt, with Tony Stewart, A.J. Allmendinger and Jeff Gordon rounding out the top five.

The championship continues next weekend in Las Vegas.

Here is the video of the ‘Big One’ at Phoenix

See below for the full Subway 500 results

1 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet Drive to End Hunger 312
2 Kyle Busch Toyota Combos 312
3 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s / Kobalt Tools 312
4 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Jimmy John’s Gourmet Sandwiches 312
5 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Tornados 312
6 Kasey Kahne Toyota Red Bull 312
7 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 312
8 Kurt Busch Dodge Shell / Pennzoil 312
9 A.J. Allmendinger Ford Valvoline 312
10 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet National Guard / Amp Energy 312
11 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Freight 312
12 Matt Kenseth Ford Crown Royal 312
13 Mark Martin Chevrolet 312
14 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota NAPA Auto Parts 312
15 Brad Keselowski Dodge Miller Lite 312
16 Marcos Ambrose Ford Stanley 312
17 Paul Menard Chevrolet Vertis / Menards 312
18 Casey Mears Toyota GEICO 312
19 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target 312
20 Greg Biffle Ford 3M 312
21 Bobby Labonte Toyota Clorox 310
22 David Gilliland Ford Taco Bell 310
23 Bill Elliott Chevrolet Security Benefit 309
24 Mike Skinner Ford Cerwin-Vega Mobile / K1 Speed 308
25 Tony Raines Ford Front Row Motorsports 306
26 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Caterpillar 276
27 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet Cheerios / Hamburger Helper 260
28 Carl Edwards Ford Subway 252
29 David Reutimann Toyota Best Western 246
30 Brian Vickers Toyota Red Bull 238
31 Andy Lally * Chevrolet Super Eco-Fuel Saver 237
32 Robby Gordon Dodge Speed Energy / Bashas’ 236
33 Joey Logano Toyota The Home Depot 213
34 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row Companies 213
35 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker 126
36 David Ragan Ford UPS “We Love Logistics” 125
37 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet AAMCO Transmission / Ohsweken 72
38 Landon Cassill Toyota Big Red 68
39 Travis Kvapil Ford Long John Silver’s 66
40 Trevor Bayne Ford Motorcraft / Quick Lane Tire & Auto 49
41 Michael McDowell Toyota HP Racing LLC 43
42 Dave Blaney Chevrolet Accell Construction 27
43 Joe Nemechek Toyota NEMCO Motorsports 22

Comments are closed.