Drama as Ryan Farrell wins Manjimup WSS

Ryan Farrell

Ryan Farrell

Ryan Farrell has taken the midweek World Series Sprintcars event at Manjimup, while the two Championship aspirants – Robbie Farr and David Murcott – were involved in a heavy crash during the A-Main.

The Manjimup round could have seen either Farr or Murcott stamp their authority on the series, however it wasn’t to be. Murcott spun out with 11 laps remaining with Farr following close behind. Both Farr and Kerry Madsen were left with nowhere to go, cannoning into the side of the Victorian.

Farr was showing some distress after the incident, with Madsen rushing to the East Coast Pipelines driver’s aid.

The series points ledger is tipped in favour of Farr, with just two points separating them and a two-night show at the Perth Motorplex this weekend.

The concentration of the home town fans though was on Farrell – who was driving the Wayne Rowett owned ART chassis. Rowett was forced home to the family onion farm in Bordertown to attend to business. The West Aussie firebrand set the pace in qualifying and was the fastest in both the Silver and Gold Shootouts, securing the A-Main pole.

Completing a big night for West Aussies, top points-scorer Mark Wells drove his machine home to second place, while the ever consistent Jason Johnson completed the podium – this result all but securing the Hayne’s Labour Hire/HM Racing team the WSS Team’s Championship.

No doubt the Louisiana native will be rueing missing the opening two rounds due to commitments in America.

Brooke Tatnell and Ian Madsen completed the top five.

“It was pretty difficult to be honest, the dust made visibility hard,” Farrell observed.

“It was a great result, I love coming to this track – it’s big, wide, open and fast … in fact, I like going anywhere at the moment,” he quipped, referencing an on-going situation with the sport’s officialdom.

“Whilst it was a different car, it’s not too unusual compared to what I am used to and I have to thank Wayne for the opportunity and would be happy to drive for him in the future!”

With just two points between the mercurial Murcott and the aggressive Farr – it is still anyone’s game. The Championship has never had a finish like it is going to have this Friday and Saturday night at the Perth Motorplex. Whichever way it falls, World Series Sprintcars will crown a first time Champion on Saturday night.

WSS Championship points

1 Robbie Farr 3646
2 David Murcott 3644
3 Jason Johnson 3414
4 Steve Lines 3351
5 Ian Madsen 3102
6 Max Dumesny 2911
7 Trevor Green 2851
8 James McFadden 2850
9 Danny Reidy 2717
10 Bryan Mann 2630

Comments are closed.