Johnson continues his winning ways in Bunbury

American Jason Johnson won his fifth round of the 2010/2011 World Series Sprintcars Championship at Bunbury Speedway in Western Australia on Saturday night.

The victory ahead of returning championship leader David Murcott and Ian Madsen moved Johnson, who missed the opening two rounds due to his commitments in America, into third place in the overall standings.

On a track that the American won the Krikke Boys Memorial on last year, he was never headed after jumping to the lead early.

It was a night of dramas that saw the track lights go out at one stage and strong winds batter the track that played havoc with tyre choice for the 30-lap final.

Johnson was pleased to have bounced back from crashing heavily, which resulted in a written off car, to have claimed his second win within a matter of days.  Although, his road to victory wasn’t a straight-forward affair.

On an early restart Johnson knew he needed to go around the outside of Farr but then noticed that Kerry Madsen was running tough on the bottom which resulted in contact, putting Madsen out of the contest.

“We crashed pretty big last night and tore up a car, so to come back tonight after bolting together a new car is a great achievement by the guys in this HM Racing crew,” said Johnson.

“After missing the opening couple of rounds my focus was to win as many rounds as possible, and we’re continuing to do that which is a great reward for the hard work put in by everyone in the team.”

After the field regrouped following the Johnson/Madsen touch, national champion Brooke Tatnell and Luch Monte rode out a big crash, putting both of them out of contention.

Murcott is now back on top of the order from Farr while Johnson moved into third over Steven Lines.

The series now heads to Manjimup for the penultimate round on Wednesday night.

2010/2011 World Series Sprintcars Championship
Top Ten Points Standings after round 14 of 16

1. David Murcott 3459
2. Robbie Farr 3441
3. Jason Johnson 3132
4. Steve Lines 3123
5. Ian Madsen 2846
6. Trevor Green 2694
7. James McFadden 2668
8. Max Dumesny 2662
9. Danny Reidy 2501
10. Bryan Mann 2433

A Main

1. Jason Johnson
2. David Murcott
3. Ian Madsen
4. Robbie Farr
5. Ken Sartori
6. Mark Wells
7. Danny Reidy
8. Jamie Maiolo
9. Steven Lines
10. Jason Kendrick
11. Ryan Farrell
12. Cameron Gessner
13. David Priolo
DNF Kris Coyle
DNF Ben Ellement
DNF Kerry Madsen
DNF Brooke Tatnell
DNF Luch Monte
DNF Bryan Mann
DNF Stephen Bell

Comments are closed.