Whincup sets hot pace in first Yas practice

V8 Supercars have hit the Yas Marina Circuit today

V8 Supercars have hit the Yas Marina Circuit today

Two-times V8 Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup has set the pace in practice at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi tonight.

The TeamVodafone driver smashed the circuit’s V8 lap record at the stunning facility, clocking a 1m57.0160s with three minutes remaining in the fourth and final session of the evening.

Whincup was followed closely by Stone Brothers Racing driver Tim Slade and his TeamVodafone team-mate Craig Lowndes.

Rounding out the top 10 was Shane van Gisbergen (SP Tools Racing), Michael Caruso (Fujitsu Racing), Steve Johnson (Jim Beam Racing), Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing), James Courtney (Toll Holden Racing Team), Paul Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing) and Alex Davison (IRWIN Racing).

Whincup’s lap time was three seconds faster than the best practice time set last year, thanks to Dunlop’s ‘Sprint’ tyre that is being used at the Abu Dhabi circuit this year.

Qualifying for tomorrow’s first race of the 2011 V8 Supercars Championship will be held at 3.15pm, followed by the race at 6.20pm.

See below for combined results from Practice 3 and 4 at Yas Marina.

Pos # Driver Car Sess. Time
1 88 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.0160R
2 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.0390r
3 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.0480r
4 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.0630r
5 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.2240
6 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.3140
7 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.3410
8 1 James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.3470
9 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.3550
10 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.3900
11 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.3960
12 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.4310
13 8 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.4470
14 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.4820
15 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.5040
16 14 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.5740
17 61 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.7330
18 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG P4 1:57.7390
19 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:57.7820
20 49 Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 P3 1:57.8150
21 6 Will Davison Ford Falcon FG P3 1:57.8780
22 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:58.1860
23 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG P3 1:58.2460
24 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 P3 1:58.2610
25 30 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 P4 1:58.3150
26 18 James Moffat Ford Falcon FG P3 1:58.3960
27 16 David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 P3 1:58.8800
28 11 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 P3 1:59.2640

Comments are closed.