Pedrosa on top as Honda dominates Day 2

Dani Pedrosa set the pace on Day 2

Dani Pedrosa set the pace on Day 2

Dani Pedrosa ended Day 2 of 3 at MotoGP’s Sepang test on top of the time sheets, as the Repsol Honda team continued its impressive form.

Pedrosa’s fastest time of 2:00.770 was set on just his fourth flying lap, with team-mate Casey Stoner’s late flyer only good enough to bring the Australian within 0.7s of the Spaniard.

The team’s third rider, Andrea Dovisioso, spent the day evaluating a new front fork, and set the fourth fastest time, marginally behind Ben Spies on the factory Yamaha.

The American completed 60 laps of the circuit, 21 more than Pedrosa, testing a new engine and electronic configuration for the M1.

Reigning World Champion Jorge Lorenzo was just 0.05s slower than his team-mate Spies – but ended the day seventh fastest in a highly competitive top 10.

The Majorcan continued to test the latest Yamaha M1 chassis.

“Today we continued to work on the bike, we found some positive things and some not so good,” said Lorenzo.

“I think we have found more traction but maybe a little vibration we need to resolve.

“We’ve improved a lot of little things, and I have to continue to work on improving my riding as well and to give the team the best explanations I can on the developments to help them move forward.”

With Marco Simoncelli and Hiroshi Aoyama filling fifth and sixth on the Gresini Hondas, the fastest Ducati rider was Hector Barbera, down in 10th position.

Having been 12th fastest on the opening day, the Italian manufacturer’s star signing Valentino Rossi again struggled with his shoulder injury on Day 2.

The nine-time World Champion spent the day assessing aerodynamics, and reported that Ducati’s unique front-wing system was not to his liking.

See below for a full list of fastest times from Day 2

1 Dani Pedrosa Honda 2:00.770
2 Casey Stoner Honda 2:01.434
3 Ben Spies Yamaha 2:01.508
4 Andrea Dovizioso Honda 2:01.512
5 Marco Simoncelli Honda 2:01.522
6 Hiroshi Aoyama Honda 2:01.534
7 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 2:01.563
8 Alvaro Bautista Suzuki 2:01.687
9 Colin Edwards Yamaha 2:01.722
10 Hector Barbera Ducati 2:02.093
11 Nicky Hayden Ducati 2:02.379
12 Randy de Puniet Ducati 2:02.426
13 Valentino Rossi Ducati 2:02.597
14 Kousuke Akiyoshi Honda 2:02.619
15 Cal Crutchlow Yamaha 2:03.032
16 Loris Capirossi Ducati 2:03.047
17 Karel Abraham Ducati 2:03.466
18 Toni Elias Honda 2:04.026

Comments are closed.