Formula Ford teams announce 2011 drivers

Formula Ford will be as competitive as ever in 2011

Formula Ford will be as competitive as ever in 2011

The 2011 Australian Formula Ford Championship grid is beginning to take shape, with drivers confirmed for the Sonic Motor Racing Services, CAMS Rising Star and Synergy Motorsport squads.

Sonic will attempt to take its sixth crown in 11 years with 18-year-old Queenslander Nick Foster returning after finishing third with the team last season.

Sixteen-year-old Cameron Waters, who joined Sonic partway through 2010, also returns, while ex-CAMS Rising Star Garry Jacobson will pilot the team’s third Mygale.

Despite Sonic’s honour role including the likes of Jamie Whincup and Will Davison, team principal Mick Ritter believes the 2011 lineup is his team’s best yet.

“It’s pretty exciting,” he said.

“It’s pleasing to see how much interest there is amongst these young guys and their parents in racing for Sonic.

“I’m really looking forward to this year, I think this is the strongest we’ve ever been as a race-team.”

Sonic will also run two cars in the 2011 Victorian State Championship for Josh Hunter and Matthew Brabham – the latter stepping back from his national campaign with the CAMS Rising Stars last season to focus on his High School studies.

Jack Le Brocq is set to spearhead the 2011 CAMS Rising Star program, having proved the standout performer at the squad last season.

Le Brocq will be joined in the team’s new Mygale chassis by  Trent Harrison, who starred at Sandown’s final round of the 2010 championship.

The Rising Stars will also be represented in the Victorian State Championship, with Rhys Newman, Jon Collins and Callum Mitchell at the wheel.

With Chaz Mostert moving on to the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series, reigning champions Synergy Motorsport will enter cars for Matthew Hart, Liam Sager and Shae Davies.

Hart raced in the Victorian State Championship last season, while fellow 16 year old Sager moves across from the CAMS Rising Stars.

Team BRM is also expected to finalise its line-up shortly, with former Formula 3 competitor Josh Burdon reportedly close to joining Tom Goess at the Adelaide-based squad.

The 2011 Australian Formula Ford Championship will kick-off at the Clipsal 500 from March 17-20.

CLICK HERE to view the full championship calendar.

Comments are closed.