Win puts David Murcott back in WSS lead

David Murcott crossing the line for victory at Murray Bridge. Pic: Ash Budd

David Murcott has regained the lead in the 2010/11 World Series Sprintcars Championship after snaring the victory at Murray Bridge Speedway in South Australia on Friday night.

Murcott took the win ahead of championship rival Robbie Farr and local veteran Jamie Cobby.

Going into this round Murcott trailed Farr by six points but after the non-stop race he now leads on 2540 points, 30 better than Farr on 2510.

It was fitting that the championship leaders started on the front row together and neither of them wanted to give up any ground as they both showed their hand but ultimately it was Murcott who claimed the win after starting on pole position.

“It’s (the points battle) nice and close at the front,” said Murcott.

“We couldn’t ask for a better race…we touched a couple of times in the feature but neither of us want to win the championship by taking each other out.”

He indicated that he was lucky to have the Horell Motorsport entry at the track with the team unsure if they were going to get the transporter out of flood-ravaged Queensland earlier this week.

While disappointed to have lost the slim championship lead he had going into the round, Farr was full of praise for Murcott.
“Full credit to Dave, he’s done a hell of a job,” Farr said.

“It was just good clean racing and that’s how we want to sort this championship out.

“The way the points are now…it’s a tough deal – Dave and I are keeping our heads above water at the moment.”

Throughout the night Cobby, who raced regularly in America during the 1990s, showed he has the experience to run with the big names and capped off a good night that started with the fifth best time in qualifying by finishing third in the main event.

Eight-time series champion Brooke Tatnell finished fourth after starting from seven while young gun Bradley Keller started sixth and finished fifth.

2010/2011 World Series Sprintcars
Championship Points (Top Ten after 11 of 16 rounds)

1. David Murcott 2540
2. Robbie Farr 2510
3. Steve Lines 2384
4. James McFadden 2120
5. Trevor Green 2116
6. Ian Madsen 2086
7. Max Dumesny 2069
8. Jason Johnson 2067
9. Danny Reidy 1874
10. Bryan Mann 1836

2010/2011 World Series Sprintcars Championship
Round 11 – Murray Bridge Speedway, Murray Bridge, SA

1. David Murcott
2. Robbie Farr
3. Jamie Cobby
4. Brooke Tatnell
5. Bradley Keller
6. Jason Johnson
7. Steven Lines
8. Ricky Maiolo
9. Luke Dillon
10. Lucas Wolfe
11. Trevor Green
12. Matt Egel
13. Kerry Madsen
14. Daniel Pestka
15. Jonathan Allard
16. Shaun Dobson
17. Ryan Jones
18. Bryan Mann
DNF Max Dumesny
DNF Jason Kendrick

Comments are closed.