Touring Car Masters to make WA, Surfers debut

New class champion Jim Richards leads the field away in Sydney

New class champion Jim Richards leads the field away in Sydney

The Touring Car Masters presented by Autobarn has released a preliminary calendar for the 2011 season.

For the first time, the popular category will compete in an eight-round series, including debut events at Barbagallo Raceway in West Australia and the famous Surfers Paradise street track.

Also included in the category’s calendar is the Clipsal 500 in Adelaide, Mount Panorama and Sydney’s season finale around the Homebush street circuit.

The only non-V8 Supercars event will once again be at Eastern Creek, acting as the main racing class at Australia’s largest annual muscle car festival – the Muscle Car Masters.

“We are delighted with the schedule for 2011. This is a superb line up of events for the Touring Car Masters,” said Touring Car Masters Chairman Chris Stillwell.

“It has been a lengthy process, but I believe that we have arrived at the best possible mix of events for our licence holders, sponsors and our fans.

“We are very excited to venture to a couple of new circuits, and we will still be a feature at some of the season’s key events like Clipsal and Bathurst.”

2011 Touring Car Masters, presented by Autobarn

1 17-20 March Clipsal 500, Adelaide, SA
2 29 April – 1 May Barbagallo Raceway, WA
3 17-19 June Hidden Valley Raceway, NT
4 3-4 September MCM, Eastern Creek, NSW
5 6-9 October Bathurst 1000, Mt Panorama, NSW
6 21-23 October Gold Coast, QLD
7 18-20 November Sandown, VIC
8 2-4 December Homebush, NSW

Comments are closed.