Formula Ford to return to Clipsal 500

Formula Fords last raced at the Clipsal 500 in 2007. Tim Blanchard flew, and won

Formula Fords last raced at the Clipsal 500 in 2007. Tim Blanchard flew, and won

2011 will see the Australian Formula Ford Championship return to the Clipsal 500 for the first time in four years.

The Adelaide street event ran without any open-wheeler classes this year, after the Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship was dropped from the program.

The news comes as a part of a provisional 2011 Formula Ford calendar issued today, confirming six of the championship’s eight rounds.

The remaining two rounds are still being negotiated between Formula Ford and V8 Supercars Australia.

Winton, Queensland Raceway, Surfers Paradise and Symmons Plains all retain their rounds from this season, while Phillip Island returns to the schedule after a one-year absence.

Albert Park, Hidden Valley, Townsville and Sandown held rounds in 2010 but are not yet locked in.

Category Manager Magaret Hardy said that confirmation of the last two rounds will be made in due course.

“It’s important to make it clear that an eight round championship will take place in 2011, but at this stage we’re working with V8 Supercars Australia to confirm the remaining two rounds,” said Hardy.

“As a category we’re excited about returning to the Clipsal 500 in Adelaide. The event has become one of the marquee events of the V8 Supercar Championship, so it’s great that as Australia’s premier junior development category, Formula Ford can be involved.

“It’s also a boost returning to Phillip Island, it’s always been a competitor favorite and the venue creates some of the best Formula Ford racing seen anywhere in the country.”

See below for the provisional 2011 Australian Formula Ford Championship Calendar

Date Circuit
March 17-20 Adelaide Parklands
May 20-22 Winton
August 19-21 Queensland Raceway
September 16-18 Phillip Island
October 21-23 Gold Coast
November 11-13 Symmons Plains

Comments are closed.