Max Wilson wins Brazil Stock Cars title

Max Wilson celebrates winning the Brazilian Stock Car Championship

Max Wilson celebrates winning the Brazilian Stock Car Championship

Max Wilson has wrapped up his first Brazilian Stock Car Championship, securing the title at a wet Autódromo Internacional de Curitiba.

The former V8 Supercars regular endured a difficult final round, battling through adverse wet conditions, a number of incidents and his own drive through penalty. He finished in eighth place, one place behind title rival Cacá Bueno. The result was enough for Wilson to edge out Bueno by one point at the conclusion of the season.

Wilson, driving the Eurofarma RC Chevrolet Vectra, won two of the 12 rounds during the season.

Wilson in his Chevrolet

Max Wilson in his Chevrolet

Wilson competed in the V8 Supercars Championship Series from 2002 until 2007, racing with the likes of Briggs Motorsport, Dick Johnson Racing and WPS Racing. When Craig Gore’s WPS operation closed at the start of 2008, Wilson went back to his homeland, making his debut in the Brazilian Stock Cars last year finishing ninth overall in the standings. He went eight better this year …

The Brazilian Stock Car title had a number of former F1 drivers competing in it this year, including Luciano Burti, Antinio Pizzionia, Ricardo Zonta, Tarso Marques and Christian Fittipaldi.

See video below for action and celebrations from Wilson’s winning weekend.

Championship points

1 M. Wilson 265
2 C. Bueno 264
3 A. Khodair 251
4 R. Mauricio 251
5 A. Abreu 234
6 F. Maluhy 231
7 N. Figueiredo 229
8 M. Gomes 229
9 D. Serra 223
10 P. Bueno 219
11 J. Campos 70
12 T. Camilo 56
13 X. Negrão 53
14 V. Brito 47
15 L. Burti 41
D. Pamplona 41
17 D. Muffato 37
18 L. Kaesemodel 36
19 G. Losacco 32
20 A. Pizzonia 31
A. Feldman 31
21 R. Sperafico 24
R. Zonta 24
21 C. Ricci 20
23 D. Nunes 18
26 A. Hellmeister 8
27 C. Junior 7
A. J. Neto 7
W. Starostik 7
30 G. Sondermann 6
T. Marques 6
P. Gomes 6
33 B. Gesse 6
34 C. Fittipaldi 1
J. Moro 1

Comments are closed.