Holdsworth tops another wild Sydney qualifying

Lee Holdsworth has claimed pole position for the final race of the 2010 season

Lee Holdsworth has claimed pole position for the final race of the 2010 season

Lee Holdsworth has taken his second pole position in two days at the Sydney Telstra 500 ahead of the 26th and final race of the 2010 V8 Supercars Championship Series this afternoon.

Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing) set a 1:28.80s lap with less than three minutes remaining to take his fourth career pole – three of which have come at the Sydney Olympic Park street circuit.

In a repeat of yesterday, Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone) put on a wild display throughout the 20 minute session.

Offs at Turn 8 and Turn 9 early in the session left Whincup slowest when a red flag appeared after six minutes – called due to Paul Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing) pushing a tyre bundle onto the circuit at Turn 7.

Whincup moved into the top spot with less than four minutes remaining, but brushing the apex and exit walls at Turn 12 ruined his final attempt to reclaim the position from Holdsworth as the chequered flag fell.

Mark Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel Ford Performance Racing) will start third after setting the early pace, ahead of Jason Bright (Trading Post Racing) and Will Davison (Toll HRT).

The HRT driver ended the session with damage to the front right corner of his car after collecting the Turn 8 tyre barrier.

Michael Caruso (Fujitsu Racing), Todd Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing), Garth Tander (Toll HRT), Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone) and Tim Slade (Wilson Security Racing) round out the top 10.

James Courtney (Jim Beam Racing), who needs just a 22nd place finish to seal the championship today, could manage only 12th in the session after his final two attempts ended down the Turn 9 escape road.

Andrew Jones (Team BOC) brought out the session’s second red flag when he collected the Turn 11 tyre barrier halfway through the session.

The Team BOC Commodore will start the 250km race from 28th.

Race 26 is scheduled to get under way at 14:35 this afternoon.

1 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.7999*
2 1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.8741
3 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:28.9571
4 14 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.9634
5 22 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.0895
6 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1014
7 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1865
8 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.2146
9 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.2808
10 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:29.2921
11 11 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.4562
12 18 James Courtney Ford Falcon FG 1:29.4834
13 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.4835
14 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5053
15 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5060
16 6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5512
17 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5657
18 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:29.6784
19 51 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.7918
20 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.8041
21 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 1:29.8817
22 10 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.9771
23 24 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE 1:29.9926
24 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.1602
25 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:30.3791
26 30 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.5409
27 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:30.5802
28 8 Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.3673
29 16 Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.7883

Comments are closed.