Courtney extends title lead with Sandown win

James Courtney

James Courtney

The V8 Supercar Championship Series will go down to the wire at the Sydney Telstra 500 after a closely-fought penultimate event at Sandown Raceway.

Jim Beam Racing Championship leader James Courtney took victory – his first win since Winton in May – and takes a handy 53 point lead over TeamVodafone’s Jamie Whincup into the season finale at the Sydney Telstra 500 in two weeks.

In the end, Courtney stretched a lead over to cross the line with a margin over Orrcon Steel Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom, Whincup and Fujitsu Racing’s Lee Holdsworth.

It was Courtney’s fifth win of the year.

Winterbottom, Whincup and Holdsworth all crossed the line 0.3s.

In terms of the championship, the top four (Courtney, Whincup, Winterbottom and Craig Lowndes) still have a mathematical chance of victory.

The event was punctuated by a huge incident on lap 35 when Fujitsu Racing’s Michael Caruso tapped the rear of the Toll Holden Racing Team Commodore of Will Davison at the end of the back straight. The clash sent the pair into the tyre wall that caught out Garth Tander yesterday.

Caruso’s car nosed into the wall, similar to Tander, while Davison was spun backwards into the wall at high speed, launching his car high into the air.

The race was red flagged and restarted some 25 minutes later. The race was eventually reduced by five laps.

Behind Courtney, Winterbottom, Whincup and Holdsworth was Steve Johnson (Jim Beam Racing), Tim Slade (Wilson Security Racing), Paul Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing), Jonathon Webb (Dick Johnson Racing) and Greg Murphy (Castrol EDGE Racing).

The final event of the V8 Supercars Championship Series will be held at Sydney Olympic Park for the second running of the Sydney Telstra 500.

Video Race  Report

V8 Supercars; Race 24; Result

1 18 James Courtney Ford Falcon FG 60
2 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 60
3 1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 60
4 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 60
5 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 60
6 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 60
7 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 60
8 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 60
9 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 60
10 51 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 60
11 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 60
12 24 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE 60
13 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 60
14 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE2 60
15 6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 60
16 10 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 60
17 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 60
18 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 60
19 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 60
20 11 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 60
21 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 60
22 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 59
23 16 Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE2 58
24 14 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 51
DNF 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 58
DNF 8 Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 37
DNF 22 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE2 31
DNF 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 31
DNF 30 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 19


Comments are closed.