TOP 50: Top 20 ATCC/V8 drivers named

Garth Tander, Mark Skaife and Craig Lowndes on the podium in 1999

Garth Tander, Mark Skaife and Craig Lowndes on the podium in 1999

The Top 20 drivers in Australian Touring Car Championship history have been named.

In today’s News Limited papers, 11th to 20th place have been named and ordered, while the top 10 have been listed and will be ordered at a function at Sandown Raceway tonight.

The drivers assured of a top 10 finish include Craig Lowndes, Peter Brock, Norm Beechey, Mark Skaife, Ian Geoghegan, Marcos Ambrose, Jim Richards, Jamie Whincup and Allan Moffat.

Of the top 10 drivers, Ambrose is the only driver in the list not to have won Bathurst.

See below for the complete list of drivers.

Just missing out on a top 10 birth are current drivers Garth Tander (11th), Greg Murphy (12th) and Russell Ingall (13th).

Former Bathurst winners Allan Grice, Bob Morris, Colin Bond and Bob Jane were next on the list, followed by two-time ATCC winner Glenn Seton and two-time Bathurst winners John Bowe and John Goss.

This weekend’s Norton 360 Sandown Challenge has been named the heritage round of the V8 Supercar Series. It is the longest serving permanent circuit in the country, making it the perfect place for an annual celebration of the sport’s heritage and to recognise its driving legends.

CLICK HERE to see the drivers that filled positions 21-50 in the top 50 Australian Touring Car drivers of all time.

TOP 20 drivers of all-time

Craig Lowndes
Peter Brock
Norm Beechey
Mark Skaife
Ian Geoghegan
Marcos Ambrose
Jim Richards
Jamie Whincup
Allan Moffat
Dick Johnson
11. Garth Tander
12. Greg Murphy
13. Russell Ingall
14. Allan Grice
15. Bob Morris
16. Colin Bond
17. Bob Jane
18. Glenn Seton
19. John Bowe
20. John Goss

Comments are closed.