Dumbrell wins first-ever V8 Supercars race

Paul Dumbrell has won his first V8 Supercars race at Sandown

Paul Dumbrell has won his first V8 Supercars race at Sandown

Paul Dumbrell has won his first V8 Supercars race, taking victory in the Norton 360 Sandown Challenge today.

The 28-year-old The Bottle-O Racing driver held off a strong fight from TeamVodafone’s Jamie Whincup and Orrcon Steel FPR’s Mark Winterbottom.

It was Dumbrell’s first V8 race win and the first V8 Supercars victory for Rod Nash Racing.

The result comes just six days after Dumbrell’s first-ever podium result at Symmons Plains.

Dumbrell celebrated by jumping onto the roof of his #55 The Bottle-O Falcon.

Whincup took second place, while Jim Beam Racing’s James Courtney finished fourth, maintaining his lead of the V8 Supercars Championship. The gap between the pair in the championship is now 32 points.

Rounding out the top 10 was Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing), Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing), Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone), Shane van Gisbergen (SP Tools Racing) and Will Davison (Toll HRT).

The original start to the race was red-flagged after Toll HRT’s Garth Tander crashed at the fast left hander at the end of the back straight. Tander’s crew will have to work all night to repair the heavily damaged #2 entry.

Here is the video report

V8 Supercars; Race 23; Result

1 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 32
2 1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE 32
3 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 32
4 18 James Courtney Ford Falcon FG 32
5 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE 32
6 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE 32
7 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE 32
8 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE 32
9 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 32
10 22 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE 32
11 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE 32
12 6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 32
13 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 32
14 14 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE 32
15 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 32
16 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE 32
17 11 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE 32
18 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 32
19 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 32
20 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 32
21 8 Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 32
22 10 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 32
23 51 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE 32
24 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 32
25 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE 32
26 16 Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE 32
27 30 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE 32
28 24 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE 24
DNF 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE  

Comments are closed.