Bryan Staring wins Australian Superbike title

Honda rider Bryan Staring has won his maiden Australian Superbike Championship title

Honda rider Bryan Staring has endured torrid conditions at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains to win his maiden Australian Superbike Championship title.

The Cougar Bourbon Honda pilot held the advantage over fellow Honda rider Wayne Maxwell going into the race, needing simply to finish today’s 16-lap finale to take victory.

The odds were stacked against Maxwell who needed to win or take second and have Staring fail to finish, and he gave himself every chance should misfortune have struck the points leader.

The Demolition Plus GAS Honda rider soldiered on to take an impressive victory ahead of Waters, but the overall spoils went to Staring who survived a breath-taking moment negotiating lap traffic to finish 8th.

“I feel funny about it because that last race went so terribly. I couldn’t see a thing out there and it was a real battle to finish,” explained the 23-year-old.

“I couldn’t help but think about the championship in today’s race, I told myself I’d race to my own agenda but there were people passing me left, right and centre and it was certainly on my mind.

“Thanks also to Wayne (Maxwell) and the other riders who have pushed me every step of the way.”

The title of Australian Superbike Champion will be added to Staring’s previous achievements of Supersport and 125GP victories, making him the only rider in the history of national road race competition to achieve the elusive ‘triple crown’.

The Gold Coast based rider started the 2010 season without a race victory next to his name and finished the year with five victories.

Maxwell admitted a few errors earlier in the season cost him the chance to launch a real challenge today.

“We were a bit behind the eight ball this year and it probably did cost us the championship but second is a great result,” he said.

“I’m a racer, I want to win every time but that’s the way it goes. I’ve had a great year with all the guys and my team has really gotten behind me.

“The only option for me today was to go for the win and let the rest take care of itself.”

A close battle for Viking Group Australian Superstock 1000 A&B honours went the way of Champion’s Ride Days Race Team’s Brendan Clarke, who held out CJC Racing BMW rider Craig Coxhell despite the latter winning both of this weekend’s class races.

Team Suzuki’s Troy Herfoss recorded a clean sweep of round 7, capping off his Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship victory in spectacular fashion in today’s wet race.

“My second season in Supersport has been close to perfect aboard the GSX-R600, it’s all panned out how I had planned and now I am hoping to get the chance to get on a Superbike and keep chasing my dream,” said Herfoss.

“The Australian championship is very competitive and I really want to get a season or two behind me on a 1000cc machine before I look towards a ride overseas.”

Viking Group Australian Superbike Championship, Round 7 – Symmons Plains, Race 2

1. Wayne Maxwell – Demolition Plus GAS Honda Racing
2. Joshua Water – Team Suzuki
3. Glenn Allerton – Valvoline Superbike
4. Jamie Stauffer – Ducati Motologic Racing
5. Ben Attard – The Natural Aprilia Racing Team
6. Scott Charlton – Racers Edge Performance Suzuki
7. Robert Bugden – Team Suzuki
8. Bryan Staring – Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing
9. Kris McLaren – McLaren Motorsports
10. Craig Coxhell – CJC Racing BMW

Viking Group Australian Superbike Championship Overall Standings for 2010

1. Bryan Staring – 241
2. Wayne Maxwell – 234.5
3. Glenn Allerton – 192
4. Scott Charlton – 172
5. Jamie Stauffer – 165
6. Robert Bugden – 144
7. Joshua Waters – 143.5
8. Shawn Giles – 142.5
9. Shannon Johnson – 119
10. Kris McLaren – 82

Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship, Round 7 – Symmons Plains, Race 2

1. Troy Herfoss – Team Suzuki
2. Christan Casella – Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph
3. Aaron Gobert – AGR Inc / Bell Helmets / Yamaha / Dynojet
4. Nicholas Waters – Waters Racing
5. Brett Simmonds – Simmonds Racing / Xlite Helmets / Motul / Dunlop
6. Brodie Waters – Waters Racing
7. Ben Burke – Yamaha
8. Des Darby – Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph
9. Lawrence Gude – Tamar River Cruises
10. Andy Lawson – Champion’s Ride Days Race Team / Palfinger Aust.

Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship Overall Standings for 2010

1. Troy Herfoss – 275
2. Christan Casella – 233
3. Brodie Waters – 212
4. Aaron Gobert – 164
5. Chris Quinn – 152
6. Ben Burke – 149
7. Ryan Taylor – 125
8. Des Darby – 111
9. Andy Lawson – 100
10. Blake Leigh-Smith – 85

Comments are closed.